Sort:  

Awesome stuff, I'm a big fan of Alan Watts.
Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks! As a writer, I think it's incredible the words Alan was able to weave right off the top of his head. He was a real thinker, and an incredible speaker.

Alan Watts ftw again. Upvoted and followed.

Cheers! Upvoted and followed back.

I wonder where the idea that money can only be used for economic activity came from. The idea that if we create money for anything other than GDP growth we must get inflation. Perhaps it's a self-reinforcing dynamic. I wonder if it is just a simple matter of redefining economic growth to be broader than GDP (see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gross_domestic_product#Proposals_to_overcome_GDP_limitations) and then markets will automatically value transaction that fall within than scope that they don't value today.

Yeah, part of our future will require dropping GDP as our primary measuring stick, so that we can begin to focus on ever improving quality of life over simply economic growth.

At the end of this longread article of mine, I get into that a bit.

I wonder where the idea that money can only be used for economic activity came from

the more I know about economics, and I have delving more than 15 years into it, the more I think the concept of enslavement came first. It is embedded in money, and that is why we must let it go completely. A money-free society is by far preferable. Money is a fiction anyway... a deadly one. Universal basic income will not restrain nor dismantle corporations

I'm having trouble visualising how a world without money would work. Can you expand on how this would function? At it's simplest money is just a token for exchanging different things. Say I'm living in this moneyless society, and I need new tyres for my car. How do I get them without money?

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://pastebin.com/MDj3LSdV

Nice find, robot! That's exactly where I first posted this after having transcribed it back in 2014.

This post received a 4.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @scottsantens! For more information, click here!

This post has received a 1.77 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @scottsantens.

there is another solution, go let money go. A money-free society is even better because universal basic income could still be used to ration people, and it will happen.

thanks for the transcript, following

I was a fan of the idea of a resource-based economy beyond the monetary system years before I even heard of basic income. I think the most realistic way of moving beyond money is to first sever the connection between income and work. As long as people require money to live, money will be seen as hugely important. As soon as money is no longer needed to live because people already are guaranteed enough of it each month in order to live... that's when things are going to start getting really interesting.

I had no idea Alan Watts was already onto this. Cool stuff. Thanks for sharing.

Loading...

Thanks for the share! I think I definitely need to get more into Alan Watts. This is the second piece I've read/heard that was truly insightful and thought provoking. Going to have to give this a second read