STEEM Earning Curation Rewards - Why You Should Upvote In Steemit?

in #basictraining6 years ago (edited)

Hello, guys here another post about Steemit. The most obvious way of earning rewards on Steemit is by posting content but in this article, we look at another great way to earn rewards and that is by being a curator not a creator. The difference is that creators produce new content and the curators help the system identify what is good so that it knows what to put in the various featured sections. Like the hot section or the trending section. You can imagine with thousands and thousands of new posts every day being creating, some content will be good, some content will be absolutely terrible and you have people visit Steemit because it offers the opportunity to go straight to some good content simply by visiting the home page or by visiting a particular category easy as that.

Your job as a curator is to go on a treasure hunt and find the diamonds in the rough so once you have sifted through lots of pieces of content you can tell the system about the good stuff by upvoting it and if a post that you upvotes later becomes popular you'll be rewarded with greater portion of the curator rewards. Now let me show you an insight into this.


If I go to my account and go to my blog I'll show you an article, where the payout has already happened. Here this one, It's eight days ago. It's 7 dollars payout. You'll see in the past payout section this amount here is $7.87 that actually shows the total payout. It doesn't show how much I will get as the author because the posted payout is split between the authors and the curators because they're both providing value so here you see exactly how that was split $7.87 has already been paid out. So I as the creator or the author received $6.68 and the curators who all voted it they're going to get $1.19 and that's going to be shared based on something I'm going to tell you in a minute so not only are the post rewards split into authors and curators those payouts are split even further. You get a portion of rewards in steem dollars and a portion of steem power. By rewarding you with steem power, the system gives an increasing amount of influence to those people who have a proven ability to identify good content early on. That's beneficial to the network because as the quality of prominent content increases the more readers will repeatedly visit the site with the confidence that they're going to get something really good every single time. In those people they then become new creators of content or new curators of content the network gets stronger and everyone benefits in an upward cycle of prosperity.



BE THE FIRST ONE
Here's my advice on how to be a good curator what you want to do to get most rewards is to be the earliest person to identify a good piece of content so that basically means scavenging the section on a regular basis. In the new section, the reason you should hang out in there because when you're looking at the popular stuff voting on content has already become popular, well that will help the author but it won't do much for you in terms of curation rewards because the popular content has already been identified as goods so you're not really adding any value by just voting on the stuff that's already popular so go hang in the new section, read some stuff and then upvote the things that you think are good content. To keep an eye on how you're doing as curator, you need to look at how much curation rewards you gathering and then see if that's improving.



Go back to your wallet there's a reward button here and if you drop this down and click on curation rewards. You'll be able to see how well you're doing in terms of being a curator and showing me here all of the different rewards and which of the articles that I have been a curator for. Just keep at it, if you've got going to be a good curator it's a skill that you need to develop so maybe keep a log a note of each week's performance in a spreadsheet and then watch as it increases as you become a better and better curator. And one final note, a good curator doesn't just mean voting on content that you think is good of course you can do that. That's not a problem but to get really good rewards as a curator you have to develop the skill of identifying what the community will love an that's a very different skill. If you're an expert in a particular topic but you might decide to specialize in curation content in a particular category and you would do that by starting from the Steemit homepage and the picking your particular category.

Thank you, please leave an upvote if you find it useful

Sort:  

Keep posting your training blogs they are very useful.

Thank you, I'm glad it was useful to you!

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Yes, I'm also a photographer myself. I'll be checking your page for sure!

Thank you! Thats extremely helpful! I love Steemit as a platform to get all these words that are in my head out. But sometimes its hard being a little fish in a big pond. This helps alot... gonna follow you to get some more helpful info!

Everyone's a little fish at first, let's be a big whale together!

Thanks for motivating words....
Kind of tired as I'm holding a newborn most of the time......:(

Be strong. Hope u get well soon!

Thank you! Feeling hopeful!!

Thanks @vaansteam, pretty nice informations. Im glad to follow you ! UPVOTE

Your welcome. I want everyone to do well!

Very helpful.

Thanks a lot :)

Thanks, definitely a helpful post. Very thorough and I now have a better understanding of being a good curator.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, wish you great success!

Your post is really helpful to me. I promise I'm going to be reading all your post and I'm
going to follow you from today. Nice post keep educating the newbies about steemit.

Thank you so much, I'm looking forward to your post as well.

It is such an informative write up.

Thank you very much :)

Thank you so much

Thank you for your help. I've been on here a few days now and am still having trouble figuring it out. Posts like this really help :)

I"m glad it helped! :)

Very good to know! I'm pretty new around these parts so it's really helpful to see articles like this! Cheers!

Welcome to Steemit, hope you will do really well!

Thanks for the info. It is educative.

Not a problem my friend!

Very interesting
I need to start upvoting to enjoy this benefit

Everything we do on here will benefit! Happy steeming!

Wow, this has been the best explanation I've come across so far when it comes to author vs curator rewards. Thank you!😄

@superstarxtala Your welcome. I'm glad I made it easier for you. Thanks for commenting again on my post. You have a wonderful day!

Really find your posts helpful, included you on my list
Of accounts worth following. 🤗💕

I will keep my eyes on you too!

Ich weis einfach nicht überwas ich schreiben soll.

:)

Really interesting post, thanks for sharing!

Your welcome thanks for taking your time to read it.

You got a 1.00% upvote from @upme requested by: @vaansteam.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Thanks for the extremely useful information

Your welcome :)

Thanks @vaansteam for posting these useful blog posts.

Not a problem! You're too kind!

I heard there was something special when voting/curating on the first 30 minutes, is this correct and what happens in fact?

Yes that is correct. Wait at least 30min

Hey @vaansteam ! Great informative post. You might find some posts in my blog which can use some value. For example, I really wish this particular post could get to more people, I find it an interesting idea - https://steemit.com/vincentb/@chronicle/explicit-i-m-robbing-steemit-industry-enter-on-your-own-risk .

Hope you could give it a read, I saw that you are following me aswell. Thank you!

Thank you for sharing!

This post has received a 1.7 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @vaansteam

Thank you @vaansteam for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 0.53% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Thumb up