Me and My Basketball

in #basketball6 years ago

We just had our team building yesterday at the Mactan Newtown Beach and it was fun. It was the first time we bond together since the team was formed in late January and it actually went well. We had food, we had games and we drunk but I knew couldn't be with them till it ends. I had to go. I needed to go. Here's why.

It was Game 5 of the PBA Philippine Cup Semifinals between defending champs San Miguel Beermen and the Barangay Ginebra San Miguel. The Beermen is a win away for another trip to the Finals of the Philippine Cup where they are the champions for three consecutive times. If you know me, you also know that I can't miss these type of games specially if the Beermen is playing (I cheer for SMB and I'll tell you later why). The score was tied at 10 when I reached home. Ginebra led as much as 12 but the Beermen tied the game when the 1st half ended. Here's how it transpired the rest of the way: The Beermen won. They beat Ginebra 100-94 and they booked a ticket to the finals and they're going to face the winner of the Magnolia Hotshots-NLEX Road Warriors semifinal duel. Not long after, I hit bed happy and called it a day.

And so this sums me up. Now let me introduce myself.

I am Ariel Amit 26, of Lapu-lapu City Cebu. A Customer Service Associate in a BPO company located in Mactan Newtown. This is my first post in Steemit and the biggest reason why I created this account is that I wanted to share something big about me.

I'm a basketball guy and I love basketball.

That is I want to point out here. I bet you can sense it already as I've made it obvious in the first part of this post. I can't exactly remember when it started. Everybody in my area cheered for Dondon Hontiveros and the Cebu Gems. When he entered the PBA I followed him all the way. From the Tanduay Rhum Masters to his glory years in San Miguel Beermen where he played 10 seasons. I remember I used to count every points he made every game. He went on playing for Air 21 Express, then he came back to San Miguel and wrapped his celebrated PBA carrier with Alaska. Right now he's still active in basketball professionally playing for Alab Pilipinas in the ABL.

Im a proud cebuano so I love to watch guys who excelled in the PBA who comes from here. From Dondon of course who was dubbed as The Cebuano Hotshot to the guys like Junthy Valenzuela and Jimwell Torion back in the day to the present that has JR Quinahan, RR Pogoy, Aldrech Ramos, Bryan Heruela and Greg Slaughter but right now the cebuano that has the biggest name of them all is the one I cheered the most.

June Mar Fajardo of the San Miguel Beermen (And now you now know why Im an SMB fan) . Having won four consecutive MVP awards in the last same years, we know that he's the most dominant basketball player right now. For me, he's simply the best we have today and moving forward he will be the best ever.

I also watched not only the PBA but the NBA of course. I'm a LeBron James fan. I follow him whatever team he plays from Cavs to the Heat back to the Cavs, I go with him. When I first started to follow NBA though I was a fan of Allen Iverson and the Sixers. I never forget when he carried the team to the Finals in 2001. They were up against the Los Angeles Lakers and sure they lost but Ill not forget Game 1. It was the only game they won and AI was super.

PS.

At that time when LeBron's teams are not making the finals and AI's sixers couldn't survive the playoffs, I would switch to the Lakers. Why?

Kobe.

Sort:  

Congratulations @arielamit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @arielamit! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!