Basketball and a dream:

in #basketball6 years ago

I am so happy after a night of basketball. First, I am sore all over. My muscles feel well-used and great. After taking a shower, I feel like a new person (although one that limps rather than walks).

Then, I review the highlights of my play in my head again and again. This goes on for days and even years for the best ones. Game winning shots, crafty lay-ups and the odd great assist.

08B47E4C-D5B6-41CE-9E37-1BAC71AD4633.jpeg

I have always been a dedicated player and after years of doing it, my body is quite messed up in many ways. Gnarled baby-fingers, ankles that have been sprained so many times they no longer look like they belong to the same person. Still, I keep at it. And still I have the memories of great plays to keep me company.


I had a dream that I was digging up water plants in the mud by a pond that was half dried up. I pulled out a plant, roots and all. The roots were interlaced with huge earthworms. I threw it to the side in disgust but after a minute I realized that I could use them for my composter. I ran over and tried to grab some of the worms, but because of the soft mud, they had already managed to disappear underground. I scooped the mud in vain; like clams at low tide, they were digging faster than I could.

09FF2D2A-F3E6-4B71-96B1-E2404902C7B3.jpeg