Carmelo Anthony Traded!

in #basketball7 years ago (edited)

A week to go until preseason and the Knicks have finally made a move to send Carmelo Anthony to the Thunder

jktV63q.jpg
Source-https://boxden.com/showthread.php?t=2446696

Another star leaves the East

Carmelo Anthony has finally been traded after what feels like the entire offseason being on the "about to be traded" spot. He has been traded to the Oklahoma City Thunder in exchange for Enes Kanter, Doug McDermott, and a second-round pick. This move makes the already overstacked West even stronger and I feel that this is starting to become bad for the competition level in the NBA and may result in the East losing interest altogether. The Thunder now have a really strong big three that will most likely cause many problems for opponents this upcoming season.

Winners and Losers

As is almost always the case, the team that loses their star loses the trade and in this case, it is all too true. The Knicks, in my opinion, got fleeced in this trade but that may also be because they themselves devalued their star to such an extent. This leaves the Thunder with a very strong big three of Russell Westbrook, Paul Goerge and Carmelo Anthony while the Knicks didn't even receive a young talent or a first-round pick. Enes Kanter is by no means a scrub but he is far below the skill level as someone with the resume of on Carmelo Anthony.

My opinion

I am certainly very saddened by this trade as I am a Knicks fan, less and less every day! Carmelo Anthony has done the Knicks proud and it is sad to see him and his career pay for the mistakes of Phil Jackson. I am a huge Carmelo Anthony fan and I hope the man gets his chip one day but for now, the Knicks are in a desperate situation and this trade has in my opinion maybe just made things worse. As a Knicks fan, it pains me to see him go and especially the way he has been treated. The Knicks devalued him and now have not even received a first-round pick.

If you have any basketball/sports related posts that I might find interesting, please comment below and we can interact!

Sort:  

Good to see you post again, getting excited for the start of the season! ready to use my league pass again. thinking about starting a blog about basketball as well with my predictions. keep them coming

Yeah, I agree the offseason gets so boring after all the major trades have been done!!

Soon the season starts! so much fun crazy trades...
just added Basketball to my account as well
https://steemit.com/sports/@heyitshaas/introducing-my-account-upgrade-bringing-nba-basketball-to-the-blockchain

Anatomy of a Super Team, wow the west will go crazy this year OKC will give Golden State a great series when they collide in the playoffs with Houston also breathing down their necks.

I think if Carmelo can change his game and play off ball, it could work. He can be a pretty good spot up shooter as well as a slasher so they're offense should be fine...defense probably not...

Agreed atleast they will always have a scoring option on the court at all times.

I thought the Thunder were done after Durant left. All of a sudden they have an reigning MVP, Paul George, and Carmelo Anthony to start an NBA season. Who would have predicted that?

Well, I knew that Westbrook would attract players just because of how good he is but yeah not this soon!

I really don't think this going to work. They have Paul George already and Melo just don't play defense, he is going to be a liability on defense

I agree that he is going to be weak on D but we all know the only way to beat the Warriors is to outscore them and with those three they have plenty of scoring!

Houston got blue balled HARD AFFFFF. LOL.