Bands with pre-recorded tracks? Nah, I prefer to play the parts myself using a Roland Synth Bass.

in #bass7 years ago (edited)

I’m not a proponent of bands using pre-recorded tracks, I think musicians should play, not play along with something. To me, those acts are like Karaoke or semi-Karaoke. I will however use whatever musical tech I can to change the sound of my instrument, and make what I’m playing sound bigger and better!

I’ve been modding my basses for use with the 13 pin GK system since the original Roland V-Bass unit. I’ve used RMC, Ghost Piezo systems and Roland GK-2B and GK-3B systems. I have about 12 basses currently using one of the aforementioned. I rarely use the amp or bass models, I tend to prefer the sound of the actual bass, but when I need a synth sound, I’ve got it! Since I play mostly in 3 trio formats, having those extra sounds really fills out the band. I do things like the intro to Strawberry Fields, or the string and horn parts in many songs. Here’s a demo I did on it some time ago.

A fan grabbed some video of me using the synth on Summer Breeze- check it out below

Sort:  

Dude this rocks! I love your concept. You are going to do REAL well here! :)