How many gigs? How many bands? Average Rate?

in #bass7 years ago (edited)

Hey Fellow Steemers!
I know some of you out there are musicians, so I'm asking you? How many gigs do you play each week? How many bands do you work with to get those gigs? What's your average cut of the pay? and for how many hours do you perform to get that pay?

Here's my scenario; I'm a bassist/singer and perform mostly in the greater Cleveland/Akron Ohio area. I play with 3 bands regularly and sub for whoever calls me. This is a pretty typical week, I have 3 gigs (Thurs, Fri, Sat) each night is with a different group (3,4 and 5 piece). All 3 are restaurant/bar patio gigs, usually 3 hours, and my cut is usually $100 plus tips (sometimes that can double my pay, but usually it's just another $10 per guy). If I get a private party the pay is at least double, sometimes quadruple, but most my jobs are public, restaurants gigs through out the year ( I prefer that to the headaches of dealing with mothers of the bride)

So how does this stack up with your part of the country/world? How many gigs are you getting? how's the pay? the hours etc...?

Sort:  

I usually get paid with peanut shells or banana peels. But on a good night, I get around $150-$300 a show.

well if you don't have a peanut allergy, and you can avoid slipping on the banana peels, $150-300 is a bonus :)