You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin Cash and Bitcoin Legacy

in #bcc7 years ago (edited)

In my "perfect world" once a crypto is released the code would never be touched. Then if it collapses etc that's just the way it is and another new coin could take its place. What I hate about "changes" is it becomes different groups fighting for different reasons and that can affect your holdings through no fault of your own.

If the code is never changed then any price plummet is solely on you for not being aware of the implications of what you put your money in. That is much different to me than some group gaining leverage and forcing change.

That of course will never happen, but hey I can dream :)

Quick edit to say there is also room in my "perfect world" for something such as Steem where they are upfront about changes and that they will be coming etc.

Sort:  

I like that! Imagine hashing the code so no one can read it or change it but that would remove the transparency and people wouldn't trust it unless the hash occurred after like an official meeting and agreement among the pioneers but then those who come late would need to trust the pioneers! Damn it! Oh well... Like you said... we can dream :P

Don't be stupid. Nothing launches with perfection in version 1.0. You are in a dream world. Dream on.

I think you read into what I was saying. I did not say anything was perfect when it first starts. I even say if it dies then let it die. I just see a "flaw" in crypto when warring parties start to alter the code for various reasons. Then it all becomes a power struggle and not about the code.

You said you didnt want code touch after first release. So that assumes the product is perfect from the start. Own your comment. It was yours. The blockchain has it recorded. Don't back away from what is clearly recorded. Best course of action - quietly think to yourself - holy phuck, that was a stupid comment, I should really think before I post drivel next time. That would be one way to go.