My introduction to Hive, as a Recycled Teen on a steep learning curve.

in #beading2 years ago (edited)

Hello, this is my introduction post.
img_0.9087782103725247.jpg

I'm officially a silver surfer. (I'm the one standing.) No, I don't go anywhere near the water, but hey, I'm a granny, and want to be able to have intelligent conversations with my now grown up grandchildren. So 'internet surfing' it is.

My son is the one who has introduced me to this medium, and is encouraging me to write. It's so nice to be able to work with him, and have interests in common. My husband is just putting his toes into this water. Took a long time to get him to use a mobile phone, now he is attached to it, and uses it as much as I use mine. He's just signed up. Can't wait to read what he produces.

I love to write. Mostly blog-type stuff, with the few online groups I belong to. However, I have written a short novel. It just needs editing and tidying up. Hard for someone who has poor grammar, etc. I mainly write short stories.

I love music. I play a few chords on my guitar. Enough for me to sing to, one of my favorite hobbies. I go to an acoustic evening in our local pub once a month, when circumstances allow. Singing is such a positive thing to enjoy. My mum is in a care home now, and most of our visits are spent with us singing together, and our noise echoing down the corridor. She's taught me all the old songs. I love folk songs and ballads, and if the chords are easy, I'll have a go at them.

The writing part of my life is shared with my husband (he's the real writer in the family, I just have fun, until it comes to editing). We run one group, and are members of a couple of others in the town.

My other interests are cooking Keto dishes for my new way of life, and beading. Yes, they do go together. I need to lose weight, and who can eat anything when you have tiny beads on an even smaller needle? Keeping my mind occupied by making my own jewelry, I get the peace and rest the concentration gives me. Singing and beading, to me, are the best ways to relax and refresh.

So, I'm a bit of an odd body, lots of interests, and at my age, I need to make the most of time. It's precious.

If you got this far, thank you for reading and welcoming me into this new territory, the techno age. I'm one silver surfer who is determined to learn.img_0.6920108494479673.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Hive. I believe it offers something for everyone. I have found lots of musicians on here. I started a local pub acoustic session a few years back and it's the best thing I've done.

Where are you based?

Have fun.

!PIZZA

Hello and thank you for your welcome. I'm in a small market town in North Devon UK. I'm still learning, but will look up all I can.

I maintain the #BritList and will add you for the post next month. The UK Hive community is growing and there may be opportunities to meet up in real life.

!BEER


Hey @smithykins, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(1/5) tipped @smithykins (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Welcome to hive, I think you will all have a lot of fun here 🥳

Thank you, I'm looking forward to learning, and seeing different posts.

Welcome there and good to have you around!

Thank you for the welcome.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @rubido.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hi there @smithykins welcome to Hive. I'm going to take a plunge and guess that @rubido is your son?

You can pretty much find a community for anything on Hive, so joining them is a great way to meet like minded people to build your network. One that may interest you is Silver Bloggers https://peakd.com/c/hive-106316/created run by the wonderful @lizelle. Hope you enjoy your time on Hive

Nope she's one of my best friends @roconnor mom, she's still awesome tho 😁

I see!! Maybe we need to get @roconnor to start posting as well!! Get the whole family on!

Hello there, no, but he's my sons friend. roconnor is my son. Thank you for your encouragement and reply. much appreciated. (at least, I think thats the way it is, not got my head around this properly yet)

Hello, @smithykins! This is @anggreklestari from the @OCD team. We saw that you already posted your first post here in Hive Blockchain! Congratulations and welcome!

Well, you can explore the communities that are suitable for your content. You can read some of the communities in this post: OCD Communities Incubation Program

For tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide.

The important thing is Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog. You can't include content that you don't own without sources. For more information, check this post: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Have a great day!

Thank you. I'm enjoying exploring, and making lots of mistakes as I go. Please forgive me. I knew it would be a steep learning curve, but I didn't expect to climb a mountain. Hopefully I can enjoy the view on the way. Thank you for the tips.