Is that shrub dying?

Maybe it is like the grevillea shrubs that only have a life span of 7 years and we will need to dig it out and plant another bird friendly Australian shrub. Attracting honey birds with blossoms has been a priority in this garden. But before getting to the cutting mode the why had to be figured out. To me it was an intriguing enigma because from a distance the shrub looked fabulously healthy and up to now Ben and I had not noticed the dying branches.

Thank goodness I got up close and personal.

The Trouble shooting in the garden has taken centre stage on this lovely cool sunny Sunday morning, my walk will have to be this afternoon.

IMG_4633.jpeg

When I looked closer at the big shrub I saw flowers coming out and new buds forming . This had to be a positive.

IMG_4634.jpeg

The extra healthy buds and leaves gave me some reassurance that so far the shrub was not a goner yet.

IMG_4635.jpeg

The flowers are blooming beautifully, how interesting that each little bud opens up at different times. It is like a camera's time delay is in action.

IMG_4637.jpeg

"Ben, what the heck is happening? Is the shrub damaged somewhere or is it slowly dying bit by bit?" The only solution was to get under and look and of course Ben being action practical one in this relationship. I am extra good with ideas and organising. So I supervised while Ben crawled under to investigate. "There is a potted climbing plant strangling one part of the tree, it has wrapped itself around the trunk and sucking the life out of it."

So he pulled it off and then chopped off the dead section of the shrub. This is the offending plant, that I confess did not know was there. We inherited this pot and did not move it when we shifted in. Check out the big vine, it was a happy thriving one. The vine needed a different position in the garden, definitely not under our flowering shrub.


IMG_4640.jpeg

Once the parts of the trunk were chopped the job was finished. The shrub is not dying so a happy ending to a little bit of garden drama.

IMG_4716.jpeg

Thanks for dropping by to read my words

oooooooooooooooOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooo

Getting out on my Sunday walk took place when the daylight was fading. A fast pace to the wooden deck look out completed my Sunday. As usual I breathed in and out filling my body and soul with the ocean breeze as my eyes soaked up the prettiness of the sunset colours sitting on top of the clouds. I visualised cloud people looking intently back at me admiring the shore and the wooden deck full of like minded nature lovers. I am certain I saw their smiles and heard their happy greetings.

Ahh, I love stretching out a beautiful sublime Sunday to the very end of the light of day.

IMG_4722.jpeg


IMG_4723.jpeg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

#beautifulsunday brought by @ace108

#sublimesunday brought by @cOff33a

Always thankful

IMG_3156.jpeg



Sort:  

Looks like you have quite a bit of work in store. Hope you get your birds and bees visitors soon.

Sadly, we have not noticed native bees visiting unless they are sneaking in undercover when I am not looking hahaha.

Well, I hope you get more of them after you sort out the work.

It will make my day to see a little native bee.

Congratulations @angiemitchell! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you @hivebuzz, one of the good reasons to keep upvoting Hive blogger posts.😃

You're welcome @angiemitchell 😊🌹