A Beautiful Canal Walk Sublime Sunday

in #beautifulsunday4 years ago (edited)

011.JPG

Hello everyone, I meant to post this on last Sunday but life got extra busy on me and I never got to do it. I am here now though and ready to share a beautiful walk Hubby and I took on the Canal in Downtown Indianapolis.

First, I want to say that I have started a new full time job this past week. It's a new career path for me as a head cook in a school. I like it but it is a lot to learn and much more work than one might expect.

It kicked my rear this week for sure! And I only worked 4 days because I got called for Jury Duty one day last week too. It was a busy week to say the least.

Canal Walk 1.png

The art work you see during your walk on the canal certainly increases the beauty of the walk. We usually try to walk the canal a few times a summer but this was our only walk on it this year.

Canal Walk 2.png

Even though concrete is used on much of the canal walk, it's never felt over used to me. In the bigger photo above you can catch a glimpse of support beams from 9-11, that were sent to our city to use as a memorial.

Canal Walk 3.png

This beautiful waterfall has always been one of my favorite features on the Canal Walk and it has only gained beauty with age.

Canal Walk 4.png

Another of my favorite things about this walk, are the bridges and archways along the way.

029.JPG

While the plants are more beautiful in the warmer months, I like that you can still see the signs of them when it is colder.

015.JPG

Even the ducks love the canal and I figured it would be too late in the season to see any this year.

Canal Walk 5.png

Mostly, I love the harmony between downtown and nature. They blend together so beautifully and I think that is somewhat unexpected.

A big thank you to @ace108 for hosting the #beautifulsunday and to @c0ff33a for hosting the #sublimesunday tags each week!

If You Are Reading This, I Hope You Have An Awesome Day!

Photographs are owned by @debralee
steemit selfie.png

My other social media's:
Twitch
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap


https://steemit.com/@archdruid

Sort:  
Hi @debralee. This was a great post! We appreciate your work and efforts.

Genuine posts on natural biodiversity are not very common.

Why we upvoted you?

We liked the fact the you took out time to capture the biodiversity around you and shared it with your friends here. The photographs are amazing and aesthetically sound as is the post! We hope that you'll continue to post articles describing biodiversity and nature in the future as well. You are a good photographer! 📷

Invitation to join our project !

We'd like to invite you to our newly created Server: SBioP. To support your work, we have also upvoted you using our @bioportal.steem Curation Trail ✅!

Why We Need You?

We'd love to have you join our project as a photographer and help us in our efforts in encouraging people to appreciate and help catalog the biodiversity on our planet.

Our project will not be able to operate without support from people like you.

Best,
Team Biodiversity Project 🍄
(Manually commented by: @aakashsinghbais)

By the people ⚪ For the people

You can also consider supporting us with a small donation, or by joining our Curation Trail We are non-profit. 😊

So many places don’t seem to have much snow this year. I could watch ducks swimming all day. Have a great Sunday.

We've had a little snow but not as much as we should have had by now. It was in the 60's and raining yesterday. Not the normal thing for this time of year here for sure.

Looks like a nice walk. You need to do that more often.
Hopefully jury duty does not last a long case.

Thanks and we really should do it more often.

Lucky for me, we were released from Jury Duty the same day. The person took a plea deal. :)

Beautiful photos Deb!!I I can't blame those ducks..looks like an awesome place to hang out! Glad that you and Hubby were able to get out for a lovely walk and Congratulations on the new job (not the Jury duty..lol)! 😊 🤗

Thanks @deerjay ! It is a nice place to walk. The canal used to be an eye sore but they really made a nice thing of it.

You're very welcome @debralee!

I hope your jury duty is over!!!

What a wonderful walk and I love how well nature has blended with it. Such a pretty little town! It sure does look nice now! I think last year at this time we were shoveling you out of a snowdrift! :)

Hey! Slow down, you're moving too fast! Stop and smell those flowers!

!tip

Thankfully Jury Duty only lasted for one day. :D

We have had a very mild winter so far... almost too mild. I hope this doesn't mean it gets worse later & lasts longer.

I really have been moving too fast. It made for a tired me this weekend. lol

🎁 Hi @debralee! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Unwreathing A Beautiful Sunday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

What a beautiful post and walk I love all the photos and the art especially, good luck in your new Job hopefully week two is easier than week one

Thanks Jay! I hope it is too. It's better exercise than my last job for sure. lol

Beautiful by the water

It really is. :)

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment