You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Decking the Halls with Wreaths Across America

in #beautifulsunday4 years ago

Thank you so much @free-reign! I suspect that you are a veteran, is that so? I have to say that usually, I can spot one from afar.

It is always a powerful site to me, all those graves coved in a wreath. The one that touched me was the kissing the headstone, although to be fair, that was not taken last weekend, but, it fit nonetheless.

And thank you for your kind words.

!tip .20

Sort:  

Yep, US Army enlistee, although I wasn't a career service member. I was in for 3 years but became eligible for and got a nearly a 6 month early out because I wasn't interested in reenlisting. I was quite happy with that at the time. I served a total of 2 years, 6 months and 22 days.

The 22 days were added on after I'd come home for Christmas on a 30 special leave, and overstayed at home a few extra days. :)

Arlington is a special place. But you know that. Respect.