Homage to Evanildo Bechara - Brazilian Grammarian

in #bechara6 years ago

One of my new passions is my new college. As I'm currently on my second graduation, I chose something I really world like to study, so I got to Japanese-Portuguese.

Today was a very special day: the day our beloved University, UERJ (State University of Rio de Janeiro), made a Nice homage to one of our dearest professors and acclaimed Grammarian, Evanildo Bechara.

Most part of it was about others scholars praising him, telling us stories about him, and even comparing his publishings! But the best part was the last: where Bechara enlightened us with his lucid and vivid 90-year-old knowledge.

I think that, more than his works towards our Portuguese Grammar, the greatest contribution he made was being himself. He told us about how an older professor of his tutored him and cared for his educational background, to remark on the importance of a good teacher, without whom he would never achieve such greatness!

The humbleness in him is also a piece to remark and I quote "if I'm here receiving these praises and homage, is because of my professors, so each time I receive it, I mentally share it with them, who made it possible"

As a student, I've already realized Bechara's importance to my graduation. However, today, I got to meet the person, the idol, the caring teacher he is. I only have one thing to say: thank you for existing in the same age I do!

That's him, right in the middle, with his hands clapped together:

image