You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When to look for Multiple Queen Cells

in #beekeeping7 years ago

Well second cutout went pretty well. There are two colonies at either end of the building. started first cutout today. There were several Queen cells. According to the owner the bees moved in to the second colony 2 months ago. I am thinking the first Colony swarmed and I have cut into the superceded Colony.
Anyhow I have rubberband all the brood cone I could. Lot of Brood intermixed with honey so thinking I have a young queen maybe. As they clean out a cell she is laying a new egg. Guess that is honeybound.

I left everything there in the box and will drive back in
AM to see if everyone is moved IN.

Sort:  

Well there were a bunch a bees on the columns of the building and another swarm on the ground. Caught as many as I could in the cardboard nucs I took along. Closed of my 10 frame deep and returned home. Guess I will break it down in am and look for a queen. Will work up some splits from the queen cells either way . Wish me luck.