Drinking and Running Together: The Craft Beer Mile!!!

in #beer6 years ago

I tried a “Beer Mile” this weekend and it did not disappoint. As I was running, I was thinking, “Aren't I too old for this?” but overall I feel like it was a fun challenge that pushed the frontier for my craft beer and running journey.

Image Source

What is a Beer Mile?

I will provide me in-depth details as I go on, but for the most part... You chug a beer, run a ¼ mile lap, and then repeat 3 more times until you reach a mile. It is a timed run which includes the run and beer chugging time. I ended at 13 minutes total.

The Setting:
The Mikkeller Running Club - Chicago Chapter decided to put together a Winter Edition: Beer Mile. We met a park district that had a varsity style running track. It was a very discreet and quiet park, which was a good setting for the challenge as it is generally not legal to be drinking open alcohol containers in Chicago Parks. It’s not necessarily anything too serious, but can come with a ticket if caught. Generally, if you keep it on the down-low and you don't have any busybodies around ratting you out, you’ll be fine. After all, even Chicago Police would agree they have way better things to do than bother a bunch of adults responsibly enjoying themselves as long as they don’t make much of a nuisance.

It has just snowed recently, and we were worried the track would be covered with snow. It was not fully cleared off, but there was a decent amount of path cleared for the run. Not too many people were around except for a few runners and people walking their dogs.

The Beer: The Beer Mile rules do specify that four 12 oz cans or bottles of beer that are at least 5% ABV must be consumed during the run. I had ran to the store the morning of and chose a Belgian-Style Pale Ale by Revolution Brewing called “A Little Crazy” I figured it was a fitting name for what I was about to embark on. I had not looked at the ABV though...it was 6.8%. This was an unwise choice most would say as in order to complete the Beer Mile, many stick around the 5% AB mark. After all, it is 4 beers within about 10 minutes! This beer is released annually, and I really missed it so this was the perfect way to get reacquainted! The burly man on the can I have seen at numerous Chicago beer festivals. I am not sure what the back-story is but I assume he is a slightly odd but cool guy that hangs out a lot in the beer scene, enough so that he is featured on a can of beer!

The Run:

Lap 1: We all opened our cans and started the timers. The first beer I had dropped so it was a bit foamy. Rough start. But it was cold and went down pretty smooth. That Belgian yeast twang and fruity hop bill made for a surprisingly good choice for the beer run. Despite the high ABV, the flavor was so good that I didn't dread pounding them during the run. It was pretty cold out, but the first lap went great. I felt a little more sluggish than usual. Overall, it was quite easy with no hiccups or vomit.

This dog prefers to look away while us humans conduct our strange customs.

Lap 2: The second beer went down a little less smooth. Took me a little longer to drink, maybe 45 seconds-1 minute. But overall, I was still feeling good. As I started the next run, my stomach felt a little bloated (probably the foam) but my legs surged on. Watching the icey spots and patches of snow took a little more concentration.

Lap 3: The third beer was a little grueling, but I sucked it up and pounded it fast. I was getting a bit tired, but was still in pretty fine form. These beers may be the perfect carbo-fuel! My third lap was a little slower than the first two, but I braved on.

Lap 4: Ok, I am done with this beer! But that’s natural, this was a high faster consumption than I am used to. I like to relax and enjoy my beer, and had not drank this beers this fast since I was 21 years old. In the fourth lap, I had a little upset stomach and even gagged a bit. I saw others pause to the side and collect themselves to keep from throwing up. But I was still holding strong. The cold and the beer were getting to me and making me a little drowsy, but my fourth lap ended up being my fastest one.

Overall, I think it was a cool challenge but I found it pretty easy. I had heard that there is a bourbon barrel-aged Beer Mile that I might consider. I feel like this is not something I would do a lot, but was worth trying. I like to enjoy myself, and much prefer going for a long run and then enjoying some brews after and socialize. This was like a mini-marathon! Just pound, run, pound, run...not much time to really enjoy the moment.

And of course, post-Beer Mile nosh was needed. Some Avocado toast topped with Spanish Anchovies

I urge you to give it a shot. You don't need to be part of a running club, or wait for someone to throw it. Grab a group of friends and some 4 packs, and hit up your local running area. Below are the rules for the Beer Mile per their website. If all conditions are followed, you can enter in your running time and see where you place in the world!

Official beer mile rules:

The Complete Beermile.com Standard Beer Mile Ruleset

All official standard races need to adhere to all of the below. For alternate events and rulesets, see our popular variations list.

  1. Each competitor drinks four cans of beer and runs four laps, ideally on a track (start - beer, then lap, then beer, then lap, then beer, then lap - finish).
  2. Beer must be consumed before the lap is begun, within the transition area which is the 10 meter zone before the start/finish line on a 400m track.
  3. The race begins with the drinking of the first beer in the last meter of the transition zone to ensure the competitors run a complete mile (1609 meters).
  4. Women also drink four beers in four laps (past rule lists only required ladies to drink three beers).
  5. Competitors must drink canned beer and the cans should not be less than 355ml (the standard can volume) or 12oz (the imperial equivalent). Bottles may be substituted for cans as long as they are at least 12 oz (355 ml) in volume.
  6. No specialized cans or bottles may be used that give an advantage by allowing the beer to pour at a faster rate. ie "super mega mouth cans" or "wide mouth bottles" are prohibited.
  7. Beer cans must not be tampered with in any manner, ie. no shotgunning or puncturing of the can except for opening the can by the tab at the top. The same applies with bottles - no straws or other aids are allowed in order to aid in the speed of pouring.
  8. Beer must be a minimum of 5% alcohol by volume. Hard ciders and lemonades will not suffice. The beer must be a fermented alcoholic beverage brewed from malted cereal grains and flavored with hops. For an abbreviated list of valid beers and exceptions, click here.
  9. Each beer can must not be opened until the competitor enters the transition zone on each lap.
  10. Competitors who vomit before they finish the race must complete one penalty lap at the end of the race (immediately after the completion of their 4th lap). Note: Vomiting more than once during the race still requires only one penalty lap at the end. * It is strongly recommended, when attempting official records, to tip the empty beer can or bottle over your head at the end of a chug to verify an empty vessel.

Just another chapter in my endless journey in beer shenanigans. Please follow and/or upvote!

Sort:  

Wow! What an amazing event! I know somebody who would love to participate and would have the same doubts about the age :D Right, @irreverent-dan?

In guarantee that it’s worth trying, but not something you wanna do every weekend!

Ahahaha! I can imagine :D

I would rather chill on a bench and enjoy my beers slowly :D

Competitors who vomit before they finish the race must complete one penalty lap

I almost puked the last time (15 years ago) I chugged a couple of canned beers 😂

I have only one word to comment on this - grandpa!

I always end up having to do the penalty lap 😜

Haha, brutal!

I love a good beer mile. Let me tell you it’s way better than the gallon milk mile. It really looks like you guys had a great time.

Gallon of milk?!? Barf! How did that end?

How one would imagine...Lots of people throwing up.

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

You just planted 2.66 tree(s)!


Thanks to @bradlovesbeer

We have planted already 7475.62 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18431.02
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

drink kombucha

I brewed my own for some time, but after awhile I got tired of the taste. I like the ones in the store much better. Do you have recipe by chance?

but you can make your own flavors yourself, I'm just starting

You got a 1.12% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @bradlovesbeer!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

This post has received gratitude of 2.28 % from @appreciator thanks to: @bradlovesbeer.

I'd definitely be puking lol