Let's make a chilli pepper beer..

in #beer2 years ago

Hey everyone, SAAAY WHhaaattt?? Yes really a chilli beer and you thought garlic beer was bad enough?? I follow a guy on YouTube Martin Keen homebrew challenge and he makes loads of beer, at a stage he made garlic beer and as bad as that sounds apparently it wasn't.

20211209_134013.jpg

So how did this come about?? I have tried many different types and flavors of beer styles mango, Persimmon, many fruit varieties, lagers, ales, pilsner and more quiet frankly when u boil a fruit in my opinion those flavourful profiles don't draw through to the beer. It would appear that more flavour is achieved from the hopps than the fruit, so this time around I did it a little differently.

20211209_134018.jpg

I boiled a few chillis from my mates next door "sneaky Pete's" garden for a few minutes, basically just to render inert for my brew as not to add any infection once bottled and also as not to remove the chilli "bite" and flavour. One doesn't want off flavors and certainly doesn't want bottle bombs which may happen if they rot in the beer, which is why they were boiled for 2 minutes (hoping that was enough)

20211209_144513.jpg

I brewed a single malt, single hopp simple ale and on bottling to 6 bottles for experimental purposes only added a chilli each. These will condition for around 10 days after which I will cold crash in the fridge and then sample. The rest of the batch another 20 litres odd I bottled as normal with no chilli additions.

20211209_144456.jpg

I used a simple pilsner malted barley, saaz hopps and that's it the most simple and low ibu and abv beer to date, how boring? Hopefully not. The OG was 1040 FG 1030 and end PH 5.3 my highest yet. I suspect my instrument may be off though as PH needs to be a little lower.

20211209_144518.jpg

Kveik yeast super high performance and apparently you can make super good beer with it in 7-10 days. Guess what I'll be trying next if the weather permits, this needs to ferment fast and heat up to 35 degrees at ferment temp. Not bad.

20211211_184855.jpg

Vienna malted barley for my next brew. Kveik yeast and this time around ill.maybe do a fuggle early hopp edition and Perle late addition. Who has tried Perle hopps??

20211211_184420.jpg

20211211_182256.jpg

My recently larger store bought "brew kettle" urn which is 25 litres and works and absolute dream for those larger batches.

20211211_184245.jpg

Any keen tasters out there??
Love, light and blessings.
Have a magic Sunday.

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Well if some of the best ice-creams are garlic or chilli (ask me and the Italians who make the amazing gelato) then why not beer? I have to admit for my brother who was chugging back achar before he could walk I'm a bit surprised you have waited this long to make chilli beer. Maybe @fermentedphil has tried it? Or perhaps purslane beer?

Can you believe our solar blew. Been offline (except for WA) for days....see you around Hive

Awww blew how?? You know it needs the sun to work right when its cloudly and dark not :p xx love you

OH!!!! Why didn't you tell me that before? Here I thought the battery would charge just because of my sparkling personality!

Our inverter blew. No idea why. It IS 8 years old....and fixing it will take more than box tape and some pritt

Purslane beer! Here I come! And chilli beer, that sounds very interesting, to say the least. Hope you get your power sorted quickly @buckaroobaby.

Thanks @fermentedphil! Meanwhile we have a glut of apricots which I'm dehydrating and freezing....and now I'm considering making apricot wine! Last time I attempted fruitie wine was with granadillas and it was DEEEEEEELICIOUS

Okay, I am so jealous now. Granadilla wine! You have to share a recipe please if you have a good one. Otherwise, I will ask lady google. And the apricot one sounds delish! I am thinking out loud, but what about apricot and dandelion flower wine. No idea! But the combination in my mind sounds nice haha.

Very nice but then you will have to ship me some dandelions

I have loads of dandelion seeds! Haha maybe I can send you some! 🤣

Yeah! this is one of my favorites!
some years ago our local craft brewers in town made 2 batches and the second one was extremely hot :D
!BEER

Haha I cant wait to taste it in that case.. cheer$;)

Yeah yeah... also the pepper taste was pretty interesting along with the beer


Hey @craigcryptoking, here is a little bit of BEER from @trayan for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.