Tipples Beer Review #12 - Poppels DIPA

in #beer7 years ago

Poppels One.jpg
The back of the label was in Sweedish so it could be saying anything

There aren't a lot of Sweedish beers in my life, but when @irreverent-dan reviewed an Omnipollo beer a few days ago it made me see what I could find, and here it is Poppels DIPA, not Omnipollo but they share a nationality and that good enough for me. And a DIPA is a Double India Pale Ale for those playing at home.

I was attracted to the bottle which has a medicinal feel about it that I like, like a fancy Aesop bottle for beers. The label with it simple no nonsense feels very Sweedish, in the type of way that feel minimalist, even if that probably more Danish than Sweedish

But onto the drinking.

Pours a lovely yellow orange colour, next head rentention - although my special IPA glasses help with that.

The aroma is has a dectinct sweetness to it, not surprisingly like malt from a brewday, this tells me this is going to be big. There is also a hint of apricots, likely from the hops.

The taste is an old school American style DIPA that I love so much, it always reminds me of marmalade or apricot jam, its not as tart or fruity as the new school NEIPAs that are all the rage at the moment, rather this is beuatifully balanced, maltt sweetness, slightly bitter hop aftertatse. really a very good beer.

Seek it out, drink it, thank me later, or now if you want with that upvoty thing.

Poppels Two.jpg

Look a bonus picture all black and white and moody and what not

Sort:  

Thanks for the post. Upvoted & resteemed!

This post has received a 10.79 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @harveyword

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.