Gilroy Real Ales Lager.

in #beer4 years ago

Gilroy Real Ales Lager.

alt text

Like I already mentioned in a previous post, the past weekend I had the opportunity to test a few Beers, out of my fast diminishing stash!!

Sunday we went to visit my brother in law, where we had a braai for lunch, and as you should know by now, a Beer is just the thing to quench your thirst while standing in front of the red hot braai fire!!

20200802-110038.jpg

This time I tested a Gilroy Real Ales Lager. The bottle has a impressive label and looks real inviting. The Beer comes in a 340ml bottle and has 4% alcohol.

20200802-110102.jpg

The label states that this Beer is hand crafted and brewed according to the purity laws, as written by Steve Gilroy.

20200802-110116.jpg

The Beer poured with a hazy golden color, with almost no head, although I poured it quite roughly.

20200802-110220.jpg
The Beer did look good in the glass, despite the small head and the time to taste finally arrived!!

The beer was not to my liking, it looked good, in the bottle and the glass, but did not live up to it's good looks!! With all the nice words on the label, it still did not deliver what is promised!!

This Beer unfortunately over commits, but under performs!! I had a number of better tasting commercial lagers, thus it is not worthwhile to pay more for this craft Beer.

I hope you enjoyed the post.

Stay Safe!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

The beer looks golden and inviting for a sip!

It does, but was a bit disappointing.

hello dear friend @rynow good afternoon
It is a real shame that the beer was not to your liking and did not fulfill what it promised, to be honest it looked very good, it is true what you say, that many times appearances deceive
have a great afternoon

I agree, appearances could be deceiving.