Smb

in #beermen4 years ago

PBA: Import Holland says SMB's ouster is 'on me'

San Miguel import John Holland passes the ball under pressure from Ginebra's Art dela Cruz. PBA Media Bureau
MANILA, Philippines –- San Miguel import John Holland took responsibility for the Beermen's slim defeat to Barangay Ginebra in the 2019 PBA Governors' Cup on Sunday.

The 100-97 setback ousted the Beermen from the quarterfinals of the conference, and ended their hopes of completing a Grand Slam this season.

"It's a tough loss," said Holland, who had 20 points and 8 rebounds in the game.

"I made some mistakes. It's one of those things that you like, you wish you could have it back," he added.

Most glaring among those mistakes was his turnover with 25 seconds left in the ball game. The import had just nailed two free throws to make it a one-point game, 98-97, and the Beermen had a chance after getting a stop against Ginebra's Justin Brownlee.

Holland took the ball down the court but was met by five Ginebra defenders on the other end. He drove to the hoop, but lost control of the ball for a turnover that essentially sealed the loss for San Miguel.

READ: Hotshots put title on the line against TNT
"Man, I just lost the ball," said Holland. "It's basketball. I take responsibility. I just lost the ball, and it cost us the game."

"It's just one of those plays, you know. I gotta make it, but didn't do it. So, it's on me," he added.

Holland played just three games for San Miguel as a replacement for the injured Dez Wells. The Beermen went 0-3 in that stretch, with losses to Rain or Shine, TNT KaTropa, and Ginebra in the quarterfinals.

He averaged just 18.3 points, 9.7 rebounds, and 3.3 assists for San Miguel.

"We fought hard," said Holland. "I think we really showed a lot of heart. In the end, we couldn't get it done."

"I feel like in the three games, we showed heart in each game. We were right there, and we just, for whatever reason, didn't finish it," he added. "That's the way basketball goes."

"I wish I had more time to kind of actually get it done."

Despite the poor ending to his first stint in the PBA, Holland relished his team in the Philippines and is thankful for the chance to have played for San Miguel.

"It's a really amazing experience just to be here," he said.

"San Miguel Beer will continue to be here forever, and I'm happy to be a little bit part of it," he added.

Holland expects to take a brief break before possibly heading to Europe for the next step in his basketball journey.

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://news.abs-cbn.com/sports/11/25/19/pba-import-holland-says-smbs-ouster-is-on-me