Like going to second base with a Ferrero Rocher…

in #beersaturday • 6 months ago (edited)

Clocks go back tonight, which means I’ve got an extra hour in bed tomorrow to recover from this week’s #beersaturday. Hurrah! All hail the ale!!!

As the title suggests, it’s getting colder and colder with every passing moon, and while some quiver at the thought of White-walkers and inbred tyrants I, however, do not. For I hath the power of Stout! (and this is certainly a stout to shout about)

FF378449-C4BF-4DB7-9427-DDEAAD52C33D.jpeg

I've always been partial to a chocolate-flavoured stout and my rule of thumb has always been that if it makes you want to dip a chocolate biscuit into it, then it's a damn good stout.


gif source

My god, this is a gooood stout. Chocolate with a hint of raspberry, and as thick as an episode of Love Island. It's been a while since I've found a stout worth dipping a chocolate hob-nob biscuit into but I'm happy to say I've finally found a worthy tipple.

A945A609-F357-40B8-AD3C-B0B3228CD29D.jpeg

The only way to describe this beer is to relate it to eating a Jamaican chocolate cheesecake with a raspberry topping, it really is that scrumptious. A tastebud fandabbydoosie that will have your tongue doing a triple pike down the back of your throat just to get another taste of this wonderfully gooey stout. Add a chocolate biscuit to the mix and you're in cocoa-heaven (Yes, I know I'm obsessed with chocolate biscuits).

gif source

Real or Cake? Certainly an apt name for this beer and while the brewers at Shiny Brewery understand the depth of its taste, I only wish they would have displayed this a little more with their can-art as I have to admit it's a little lazy. I can only assume they were suffering a sugar-coma when they designed the label. That being said, I have no real reason to complain and I am definitly not going to end this beer review on a negative note. Real or Cake is a fantastic stout and at 8% it gives you the feeling you've just gone to second base with a Ferrero Rocher dipped in brandy.

Bravo Shiny Brewery! And thanks for doing what beer does best...and that's making it a great #beersaturday.

I hope all my #beersaturday pals have had the same luck as I have finding that perfect beer. And if not, there's always next week!

Sort:  

Hi @article61,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I love my chocolate, but dunking chocolate biscuit in beer? ok tbf, I've never drunk stout before, let alone chocolate cake flavour.

Shall I or shall I not...... 🤔?

 6 months ago (edited) 

I think you have to try it at least once, but don't go for any of that nanby-pamby sub-5% nonsense. What you need to try is one of the 8% + treacle in a glass style chocolate stouts! 🤣 caramel flavour is also quite nice but as you can see I have quite a sweet tooth. Whichever you choose just make sure you have a pack of chocolate hobnobs with you 👍