Bourbon Barrel Aged Peanut Butter Cup Stout

in #beersaturday3 years ago

I love a great Stout and Odd Side’s Bourbon Barrel Aged Peanut Butter Cup Stout is one of the best stouts I’ve had in a long while!

It’s also a great reason to break out my Odd Side Ales Side Bar glass. I had a long day so I wanted to have a beer that could be sipped with dinner and enjoyed as a nice night cap.

This beer was perfect for both occasions. It’s slightly sweet and not as dessert like as one would think. It was paired with grilled veggie burgers as we are cutting red meat from the diet.

The bourbon notes mixed with the malts play well off the savory flavors in the impossible meat.

429CE3FD-81DE-495D-850E-8B14C58CFA9B.jpeg

The aroma of the beer is sweet with warming alcoholic notes. You get a bit of vanilla and oak from the aging process. Then you find yourself picking up all the roasted peanut butter a malts on the backend.

EB20A65D-E2C8-4956-82F3-46E22CED012B.jpeg

The flavor starts with that peanut Butter and roasted malt flavor. Then it finishes with the bourbon, vanilla and woody oak. So the flavor and aromas are reversed which I thought was quite interesting.

07F43CF9-3F48-434E-9487-6FCC9C068E7E.jpeg

The mouthfeel is medium bodied with a subtle amount of carbonation. It’s not a thick Stout and actually leaned a bit thinner than I wanted. Overall, it’s a great better the highlights were the aroma and flavor profiles. The body was a bit thinner than I wanted maybe because I always expect thick stouts when I here bourbon barrel aged, but other than that I enjoyed myself.

Cheers,

Sort:  

With these beers, that have approximately 5-10 word names, fancy beer drinker seems to have forgotten the classicals. Yeah, they are always very different and unique, but I’m a bit nostalgic from time to time. Recently had a classical Baltic porter and it was amazing.
Cheers!

Ooh, I need to try this. I love Oddside Ales. Two of my favorites are the one that has cayenne pepper in it and the chocolate mint one. You wouldn't think they would work, but they totally do. Such great stuff.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png