Hearty Soul - Beer Review

in #beersaturday3 years ago

I picked up a bunch of Founders beer. Some of it was their flagship run of the mill stuff, but some of it was the rare taproom only releases. Hearty Soul is one of those rare releases.

The reason for this beer’s rarity is it sits for nearly 2 years in charred oak bourbon barrels. This batley wine is a true treat as it is warm, toasty and full in body.

FFC3A5267DEE4ABCA047AF09D3A0499F.jpeg

Hearty Soul has a well-balanced profile of deep malt sweetness and spicy Magnum and Perle hop bitterness that complement the delicious intensity of this boozy aged beverage. It’s got a nice copper red color that’s typical of barley wine, but the charred barrel adds a bit of a deep red tone that’s pleasing to the eye.

F252AD10C84446918BAE209C0B7A1955.jpeg

After 2020 I’m trying to live in the moment so I’m not trying to hang on to these rarer beers. I’m enjoying for what hey are - good beer. Who needs a reason to break out the expensive stuff. I don’t any need one anymore. In fact I feel goofy even thinking I needed a reason to drink the good stuff.

6C93D16FA15D4F1F8B910DA53C5E6FE1.jpeg

This bottle was around $11 bucks which is pretty hefty, but for the quality and craftsmanship that went into it I’m happy to support them. I wish they were a smaller local brewery, but even the big guys need the support to keep pumping out small batch rate beer.

Sort:  

looks nice and different.
comes with a different price tag.

Yeah it was worth it to me. I'm a fan of barley wine. I like the sweet malty taste

That is pretty cool. I have never heard of this one. I need to try and get over to Founder's at some point in my life. There are actually so many of the breweries that I have never visited besides Short's and North Peak. It seems like a lot of them are doing the bourbon barrel thing now. Since I am a big whiskey fan now I really enjoy those.

Yeah I love them. FYI I was just gifted a bottle of blanton's bourbon which might be the best thing I’ve tasted.

Oh nice! I have been wanting to try that for quite some time now. I know a guy who works at a party store and I might have him order me some stuff. He is trying to get his hands on some Pappy at the moment.