Northern Dream

in #beersaturday4 years ago

Sometimes I need a beer that’s just packed with dank resin hop flavor. Drinking Northern Dream reminds me of waking through the dense northern Michigan pine forests. The aroma is pine forward with herbal hops and a sweet grassy smell that tickles the senses.

If you have ever walked through a pine forest you will know this smell. It’s almost identical which is both interesting and refreshing. I get worried when breweries try to lean on only a few flavors or ingredients because it can create an unbalanced beer.

9B65EEFEC65044B9B0943E29D59E0000.jpeg

This is not the case in this situation. The taste is balanced with sweet notes to start. I get some honey, citrus and other lesser distinguishable fruits. The middle is grassy and has a solid earthy quality. Then. The finish is bitter with loads of flora hop, pine and dank resin to leave a drying bite.

8490FC6AF9E74789BE9A27AA44232B33.jpeg

The beer is also beautiful to look at. It’s got a nice golden color that amplified in the sun. There a small white tightly packed cap that left minimal lasting. It’s a clear and clean beer.

5A0066F928544E9E962E13EDFCACE940.jpeg

The mouthfeel is smooth and light. These are great qualities for an IPA. They make the beer refreshing and it’s a beer you can drink all day. A lot of the beers I drink and so heavy or Ickes with flavor I only want one. This is not the case it’s a drinkable beer. It has flavor and a decent ABV so don’t get me wrong it’s delicious, but I could see my self packing a few in the pack for a day hike.

1580A38B5CAE423D99DB37693D700210.jpeg

I was really surprised by this beer. It’s drinkable, flavorful and easy enough to purchase I could see it becoming a staple cabin beer. Like I said this would make a great hiking or kayaking beer. I hope they offer it all year long.

Sort:  

What’s the abv on that baby?

I have been enjoying so many hazy ipas lately and warming up to find some lighter session ales for the summer. Piles of hops and lower alcohol so you can have more without getting loaded.

This is clocking in at 7% ABV so probably not the beer for this specific situation. Have you tried light hearted by bells? It’s like two hearted, but 110 calories and like 3 ish %ABV.

I haven’t. Whenever I get Bells, it is their awesome bold ipa because not much of it gets to the stores and bars here.

Plus, whenever a beer even mentions calories, I know it is not for me. ;)

Haha true that. I'm sure that bold IPA is two hearted. It's one of the best IPAs in the world.

I have been wanting to try some more stuff from Perrin, but I haven't really had the chance. I think they had a tap takeover at the local bar one night but we were only there for a short time and I didn't get to try as many as I wanted to.

They make some good beers and some meh beers. I love the no rules, but that super hard to find. Most their IPAs are solid l, but their fruit beers are way too sweet for me.

That !BEER looks great!!
Cheers!!

Thanks man it's amazing.


Hey @cryptictruth, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.