#beersaturday - review Kona Brewing Wailua Wheat 5.4% ABV

in #beersaturday6 years ago

20180303_125504.jpg

Avid readers of my (almost) daily beer reviews might know i am quite partial to a good fruity pacific or wheat. Imagine my surprise when I discover one of my favourite brewers has made a wheat beer with added tropical passionfruit. Dayummmm son.

20180303_125540.jpg

I wanted to love it. I wanted that badly. But......... its missing something. I think tbh it's missing the umami mouthfeel of a good weissbier or the fruity pacificness. ITs stuck in the middle, stuck in brewed purgatory.

Kona make such eminently quaffable chuggables that I did have high expectations but I also really wanted to like it. Maybe I'm being harsh, and don't misunderstand me here - its not digusting its just missing something to make me get it again.

Life's too short to drink less-than-stellar beers.
(that should be a tee shirt).

20180303_125411.jpg

Drink on, drink up, love life mad legends.
dyldo

Sort:  

Well damn. Sometimes you gotta taste something to remind you why others are good. My step-son sniffs a new beer and if the hops don't seem right, he won't even try it - not worth it to him. Me, hell, I give most anything at least a try. Thanks for your sacrifice for the rest of us. :-))

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dylansmith from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.