#BeerSaturday - Rhubarb and feijoa Sour from Boatrocker Brewery (Aust)

in #beersaturday4 years ago

image.png

I live in Melbourne Australia now but I was actually born in New Zealand, and I have distinct memories of visiting to my grandfather's house in Palmerston North and coming home with bags of Rhubarb and then this was combined with apples to make apple and rhubarb crumble.

Fast forward a few years and we have moved to Australia, becuase it was the eighties we of course lived on big suburban block of land and we had space to plant rhubarb, and our next door neighbour had a Feijoa tree.

Now because our neighbours weren't New Zealanders they had absolutely no idea what a Feijoa was, but we did so with their blessing we scooped up all of the fruit of the tree combined it with the rhurarb and it was crumble time again.

Unfortunately it's rare to see Feijoas in Australia so I don't get to have this crumble from my childhood often enough, but then I saw this beer.

Look at this label - they are basically describing my childhood. In fact given that this brewery is about 5km from where I grew up maybe they moved into the house after we left, or maybe they were creepy watching me as we ate our Rhubarb and Feijoa crumble in our jandels whilst sitting on a chilly bin like the good little kiwis we were.

image.png

Anyway enough of me waxing lyrical about my childhood let's get down to the beer.

The beer is a hazy deep golden colour, it looks solid and has a robustt foamy white head.

It Smells of generic fruit sourness rather than Rhubarb or Feijoa.

It's tastes sweeter than I thought it might at the start of the sip, then there is this wave of acidic tartness, but then it's quite dry, the taste gone moments after the liquid has. The rhubarb is there are in the mid sip. The feijoa is subtle, really subtle. I know exactly what a feijoa tastes like, I've eaten hundreds, nah thousands of them and it's only just there - which is to say unless you knew what you were looking for you wouldn't find it.

It's a very sophisticated and interesting beer it's like a tangy desert beer, and yes it absolutely took me back to my chilldhood and the excitement of knowing that it was 'Crumble Night' This beer is more refreshing than crumble, nowhere near as sweet, it's super refreshing, and a treat in itself.

As always this post is part of #beersaturday. If you like stories of people tasting beers from around the world check out the main post here

Sort:  

hello dear friend @harveyword good night
I love your story, how good that a beer has made you travel back in time and remember your childhood,
That beer looks great, enjoy it
I appreciate that you introduced us to this beer. and the whole story
have a wonderful night

Looks like a great !BEER


Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.