Episode 3, sours and coffee

in #beersaturday4 years ago

If you read last week's entry you know that I'm currently watching the Star Wars in order, so last night I watched Episode 3. Easily the best of the prequels, which let's face it isn't hard.

And of course I drank beer.

The first beer was from a brewery in Brisbane, Australia called Aether brewing. Aether might be a little like midi-chorolians, in that people think it exists, but doesn't or maybe shouldn't. Aether the concept, not Aether the brewery, which does exist and produce a beer called Witching Hour, put it in a can and shipped it to me.

image.png

The Witching hour is a blackberry sour and they have this to say about it - A classic Berliner Weisse style, Witching Hour is brewed with wheat, Golden Promise and pilsner malts, resulting in low bitterness and residual sugars. Fresh QLD blackberries add delicious acidity and sweetness. Pouring a dramatic purple, Witching Hour shows remarkable balance between juicy blackberry flavours and tart, refreshing lactic sourness. Witching Hour was named in the top ten new QLD Beers of 2018 by the Crafty Pint.

I myself would describe it more like a deep purple blood colour, so it certainly doesn't look like beer, surprisingly it doesn't really smell like anything, which is odd given the strong colour, I was expecting a big fruit kick. The taste is certainly sour and sweet all at the same time. It basically tastes like unsweetened Ribena juice, I don't know if Ribena exists outside of Australia - but it's blackberry cordial.

So this is a beer which doesn't look like a beer, doesn't smell like a beer and doesn't taste like a beer - that's not to say I don't like it - it's refreshing and summery and enjoyable, but I'm not sure I would be pleased if I wanted to have a beer. I do like the can design though

image.png

From there is was onto another odd beer choice - a Coffee Lager from a brewery called Sunday Road Brewery, which is from the southern suburbs of Sydney and here is what the brewers have to say - We have teamed up with the crew @ White Horse Coffee who supplied us with the Kenyan Cold Drip coffee which we added to our Vienna Lager. The result is a bold coffee nose and creamy mouthfeel, plenty of coffee, chocolate and caramel layers melding together. Well balanced, it will keep you wanting another

Now I'm not a huge lager fan, but I am a fan of Kenyan Coffee, in fact I start each morning with long black from my coffee machine made from Kenyan Dark Mocha coffee Beans.

e719337922df6ca5ddac626e23bc5658_640x640.jpg

And this beer is exactly like that - it smells of coffee, it's not quite a dark as a coffee (by the way - photo from untappd because I was so engrossed in the film I forgot to take a photo) and the taste is unusual, the first wave is classic Vienna Lager, a hint of malt, gentle carbonation, and very plesant and then there is this second wave which is all nutty roasted coffee flavours, just like a cold brew.

So essentially this beer is exactely how the brewers describe it, and I like it - a lot.

As for the movie, well as I said it's the best of the prequels, it's about 20-30 minutes too long, there are sequences and characters that don't need to be there. Palpatine is like a cartoon villian, so overacted that it's hard to believe no one could work out that he it evil.

But the real problem with the prequels is this - it makes the Episodes 4,5 and 6 much worse films, putting aside all of the 'why have those characters forgotten each other' obvious mistakes, the problem is that becuase they have revealed that Anakin is Luke's father, and that there a twins named Luke and Leia and that Yoda is an amazing Jedi and all the rest of it ruins every piece of tension for the later films. Oh well as least I get to watch the better trilogy now - although Rogue One must be next in my timeline.

Sort:  

Congratulations @harveyword! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 75000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 80000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs

Ummm, alcoholic Ribena, just like mum used to make

!BEER


Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @talesfrmthecrypt for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I have never heard of Ribena, but as you say it does not sound like a great !BEER I must say I also love a good stout!!
Cheers!!


Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.