KBS Taste Testing 2015, 2016, 2017!

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Cheers To An Epic Beer Weekend!


  
The weekend was finally HERE!
  
This wasn't just another Saturday Sunday in my books, this was a weekend I had been anticipating for a while. The one you mark in your calendar and count down the days! So what's this weekend all about you ask? It's when my friends and I get together with our families for what we call "Four Corners". Is was given this name since most of us live a couple hours from each other in all different directions. This is a time for us to catch up on each others lives, have our kids run around with each other, and let the adults enjoy some kind beers!
  
This Four Corners like many others didn't disappoint.
  
I had been planning to bring two KBS stouts I had picked up, 2016 and 2017 versions (2nd pictured below) to taste test side by side but was asked only to bring the 2016. This was because two of my other friends volunteered to bring a 2015 and a bomber sized 2017! I know what you're thinking "what nice friends"!
  
After some hugs, handshakes, and chatting it was time for beer and as you can tell from the first pic below, I was ready!
  
We cracked all the KBS side by side and began to taste. They were ALMOST all amazing! I know, I know, almost... The 2015 had either aged to long or not aged appropriately. It was a bummer; although not undrinkable or bad, it just lacked any real flavor. The 2017 was a bit on the sweet side but easily drinkable. If you were to give the 17 a year to age I'm sure it would've been fantastic. Speaking of FANTASTIC, the 2016 was delish!!! So smooth, with such great taste, it made you want to pull an Encino Man while hooked up to a KBS slurpee machine!
  
For those lucky few that got ahold of KBS, I would recommend drinking your 2015 sooner than later. If you pop the 2016 right now it's probably perfect and for the 2017's, I would hold off and age it for a bit.
  
Overall great weekend in the books with great friends, crazy kids, and some of the best beer money can buy!
  
Have you had KBS? If so whats your thoughts? If not what would you do for one? MUAHAHAHAHA
  
#BeerSaturday

  
IMG_3537.jpg
  
IMG_3936.jpg
  
IMG_2681.jpg

Sort:  

Thoughts? I really think KBS is a garbage beer. BUT, that's because I never had a bottle before it started seeing nationwide distro. I'm sure it used to be much better. But I also feel that all these beers on the "top lists" we see all earned their accolades before this recent surge of craft brewers pumping out mind-blowing stuff. Pliny & Heady are good, but they are nowhere near the top anymore just like I feel KBS is. But to me, the past 3 years have all tasted like charred garbage.

Love where your heads at, such a good stout. After my running club recently, someone took out a 6 year vertical. It was so awesome to try all the years, I enjoyed the 2013 and 2017 the most.
27935436_10103616204449419_929380010_n.png

I love a good vertical tasting - we are planning on having our Cooper's vintage vertical soon. Biggest problem, we are running out of glasses it's now 2011 through to 2017 for three people so 18 glasses needed.

Man can't wait to see some epic pics from that!

Founders is one of the best breweries in Michigan. KBS is a staple in my household. Did you get some of the CBS this year?

Caught the Flu and wasn't able to pick any up but a couple of my friends got some and said they would share. Cheers to them!

That’s a bummer, but I’m glad you have good friends. This years CBS was pretty darn good.

Congratulations @loganp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!