You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's celebrate the 30th Steemit #BeerSaturday Challenge with YOU as an attendee - Join and WIN from 15 SBD prizes

in #beersaturday6 years ago

I love this review, I'm also a recent convert to home-brewing. Your use of foraging in your brew is also an incredibly inspired idea. Great work.

Sort:  

Thanks! I'm a big fan of alternative ferments and "wild" beers. You will see more discussions of this sort of thing from me in the future. Often I will do brett beers (so often that I had to order 10 new fermenting buckets due to contamination!). I've also got a "magic stick" wine stave that I used to ferment a mixed fermentation from Highland Park Brewery (aka The Hermasillo) that was super awesome but took a good 6+ months to really come together. I'm planning on doing a solara in a keg with this stave as a mini barrel very soon. I'll take pictures of my stone age brew process if you are interested in getting more out of your sessions with relatively small vessels. Please confirm and I can do a post for you specifically.

That would be amazing @gmikeyg. I’m sure a few of us here would be fascinated to read about your brew process. :)

OK, I'll work on documenting and writing up what I do. I focus on conservation of effort and efficiency of time, but not at the exclusion of saving money. Fore example, I'll buy my hops by the 11 lbs bale on lupuline exchange and just keep them in the freezer. It allows me to use them by the handful instead of worrying about measuring them out by the ounce and being stingy.