#BeerSaturday - 2 Craft Breweries for the price of 1!


zh4.jpg

It is week 277 for #beersaturday and I am getting a post up here before a long session of brewing this aft!

As we all know, being The Blockchain Beerologist definitely has its perks, including but not limited to getting paid to tour breweries and sample new beers! When I am not globetrotting or brewing my own beer, my fridge looks like a colorful mosaic of regional craft beer I enjoy sharing with the #beersaturday alliance of #beer bloggers on #hive.

This week, I I take you on not 1 but 2 quick craft brewery visits!!

 "image.png"

Royal City Brewing Company


IMG_2790.JPG

About an hour away from home, there is a college town that reminds me of the one I grew up in. What brings me here today is a supply run for our own brewery as we need hops (particularly the IPA ones in large quantities) and CO2 for carbing and keg dispensing. How convenient is it that the supply store is right next to Royal City Brewing Company? It would be rude not to stop in for a pint!

IMG_2792.JPG

I must admit I can't remember the last Royal City beer I sampled because I don't see them on the shelves that often, the label design isn't the most prolific, and perhaps their IPA was underwhelming? Whatever the reason, I am always happy to visit another craft brewery, especially one boasts itself as a nice big beer hall! Plenty of seating and surprisingly large on the inside despite being a little empty in the mid afternoon.

IMG_2795.JPG

Scanning the chalk board menu, there is a wonderfully satisfying variety of beers to be enjoyed and a list this long generally lends itself to a nice flight of vastly differing styles! Everything from saison, radler, cream ale, lagers, and even guest taps and ciders. It does seem to be light on the darker beers which may throw off the fans of the darker malts.


IMG_2791.JPG

Taking a look at the menu, there is a scotch ale that might be a bit more malty and an American Pale Ale on nitro which is neat. Long time followers and my blockchain #beeroligist crew will know what I am looking for.
IMG_2793.JPG

Being hopelessly and blissfully obsessed with strong, hoppy IPAs, Nothing on the current menu thrilled me so I opted for the Riverside New England IPA weighing in at a hearty 7% ABV. I like to judge a brewery by its core IPA to see whether or not it suits my weird palate and a strong, hazy NEIPA was a good call. Simply well balanced in body and flavour despite the higher ABV, and a lovely pint with plenty of hoppy sweet/bitter balance. Would definitely have again!

 "image.png"

Jackass Brewing


IMG_2801.JPG

A bit further down the road, in search of a better CO2 supplier, there is a lesser known brewery that is a favourite of our chief brewer. He had mentioned Jackass Brewing before and that is endorsement enough for a quick visit to the brewery/taproom!

IMG_2800.JPG

This place is literally a hole in the wall in an industrial plaza which I just love for how a brewery can find a home in any place with the space. All you need is a bar, some taps and a square point of sale and you are in business serving the freshest beer around.

IMG_2799.JPG

Right behind that wall is where the magic happens. As you often see in these smaller operations, they have made use of every square inch for fermenters, boilers, bright tanks and all the vessels that you need to pump out the volume and variety. I love the sideways glances I get when snapping pictures as I might be a beer blogger or inspection agent!
IMG_2802.JPG

In typical style, I opted for their flagship SunKiss NEIPA which I do remember tasting and enjoying previously. This pint is actually their House Lager as my counterpart loves to evaluate a brewery based on how clean and flavourful their lighter beers are. Nice and cool with a slight haze accentuated by glass condensation, this was a pleasant and flavourful beer. I would enjoy this during a thirsty summer day of golf, beach or even lawn mowing.


IMG_2839.JPG

I did make a stop in the bottle shop for a few beers to take to the fridge at home. One of them was this neat American Pale Ale and you may have to tune into #beersaturday week 377 for this and the other gems I enjoyed back at at #beerology HQ.

2 great breweries and a road trip!

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!




455158063_916687110484304_1213170696858841020_n.jpg

Like my friend @gooddreamn, I am battling to stay the fine line between abstention and overindulgence when it comes to alcohol and beer. Still, pouring a nice hazy pint sure does calm my mind a little!
Join me, @detlev , and the other beerologists because there is always room for more beer bloggers at this week's Beer Saturday gathering... https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-376

Cheers to our global family of beer drinkers!!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Would you prefer Royal City of Jackass?

Sort:  

Greetings @zekepickleman ,

A fine Brewery Tour today....thank you. The beers you chose...look fab.

Lovely tank and behind the scenes goings on in view. Always interesting to see. ^__^

Do you ever see any copper tanks in the area?

Kind Regards,

Bleujay

Thanks for joining me and the support!

I have seen a couple copper tanks but only as decoration in the fancy places. Mist are stainless steel including the ones we brew with.

Royal City Brewery looks a little different inside than when I was last there. I don't think it had those long tables set up. I only remember a few tables by the windows. I like brewery's that also serve their beers though. Straight from the source!

Yes it did look rather new as maybe a fresh upgrade and style. Fresh is as good as it gets which makes visits to these breweries that much more special.

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 27000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 28000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2024