#BeerSaturday 200 - Too Sweet to be Sour!

#BeerSaturday is at week 203 and I am taking that opportunity to take a sour adventure!


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger organically years ago because of the blockchain as I came to write either about that which I am learning, or know very well. The years I spent brewing for myself, the breweries I work with now on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing combine for the self-proclaimed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist.

This week, I am taking a cue from our friend @davedickeyyall who didn't seem to be too pleased with the concept of a sour beer.


image.png

Shorty of the Week


177871898_297182561963890_5658557259104144027_n.jpg

I like to keep a few shorties in the fridge for those times when a smaller, different beer is the right one. There have been more shorties than pints on the town because of the lockdown but I promise I will catch you up on the local draft beer scene when the bars are open again.

The shorty this week is again courtesy of a guest from the big city. Here, we have a cool fist full of Juicebox IPA https://www.banditbrewery.ca/store/juicebox-can from Bandit Brewerthttps://www.banditbrewery.ca/ You KNOW I like a New England IPA from a new brewery, especially with Mosaic hops, and this one looks like the real deal. Hazy, tropical and a relatively low ABV makes it one for me to try if it makes it out this way.


image.png

Pucker Up!


IMG_1247.jpg

I have enjoyed the newer beers a little more lately from Amsterdam Brewing https://amsterdambeer.com/ I am a fan of skulls and cartoons in beer labels with this one having both, as well as a neat retro contrast & interesting colour palette.

IMG_1248.jpg

I also enjoy sour candies and Makes U Pucker https://amsterdambeer.com/products/makes-u-pucker-dry-hopped-sour-473ml-can?_pos=1&_sid=a80e84c59&_ss=r looks to be just that. There was a nice fresh carbonated edge I can't recall from other Amsterdam beers and the distinct sour flavour explosion to match the label. I can say I probably wouldn't have 2 of these in a row.


image.png

Raspberry Meh


IMG_1251.jpg

Woodhouse Brewing Company https://www.woodhousebrewing.com/ is one I forget about most of the time until I see the label again. I can think of a few times playing at skuzzy rock clubs with fridges full of bullshit beer and, right at the end of the list, is something by Woodhouse. That. I will have that.


IMG_1252.jpg

They make a sour? Yes they do! Raspberry Sour isn't even mentioned on their website. Raspberry is pedestrian in a sour when you consider the variety of fruit you can brew into yours to make it different. Perhaps that is why you put hibiscus flowers in to sweeten the aroma and end up delivering a pint with not apparent air in it, and it doesn't taste bad. This is at least an "I Don't Hate This" and perhaps an "I Would Try This Again."


image.png

Aloha!


IMG_1272.jpg

Things come full circle with yet another brewery I am not especially fond of managing to sell me a beer and it not even being an IPA. Side Launch Brewery https://www.sidelaunchbrewing.com/ has recently done a good job straying from the alright into the new and not bad. With a label like this, and knowing I am going to get sour this week, makes total sense to give this a shot.

IMG_1271.jpg

Welcome to Aloha Sour! https://www.sidelaunchbrewing.com/products/aloha-sour?_pos=1&_psq=aloha&_ss=e&_v=1.0 Take a read of the description on the online shopping cart. "Aloha Sour is a sweet and refreshing fruited and spiced Tiki inspired lactose sour. Ample amounts of orange citrus, mango and pineapple purees, blended with Falernum inspired extracts of almond, clove and cinnamon create a Polynesian sensory experience that wisp you away to the beach bars in the islands." There is a lot going on there with the purees and extracts, so great to discover that the beer was as vibrant as the label.

beerologistapproved.png

I am pretty certain Side Launch has never gotten the coveted seal of approval to date. Well done! Good Sour!


image.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Hop in on the marketing push with us and invite the world of beer bloggers to join us on Hive.

This is #beersaturday week 203 https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/two-o-three-or-week-203-of-beersaturday-calls-you for the blockchain beer drinking crew who have developed an immunity to hangovers.

I invite a friend to the party every week and this week I invite @bozz who I have known for such a long time but I can't recall ever having a beer with him.

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



Do you enjoy sours?

Sort:  

Well at least you picked colorful cans

That is one thing I know about us. We appreciate a vibrant set of cans!

Especially!BEER


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @davedickeyyall for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

we had an online zoom beer meet up with a few hive peeps last night. Would be good to get you in next time :)

Yah man hit me up!

Depending upon the time, I may already be snapped but that would be great.

!BEER


Hey @scubahead, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That's quite the lineup! I was on a sour kick a few years ago, only to discover I get some crazy heartburn after a couple (boo...). Still, I will not pass up a gem when I can find one. Love the Brettanomyces, personally!

Yah I am not much of a sour guy in general. Though, it may be because I found the BEST sour in the region https://www.halfhoursonearth.com/ and nothing seems to compare.

I am always looking for a new good beer and a triple shot of sour makes for a good blog post.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @bahagia-arbi on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Much appreciated! Beer is food too!


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.