#BeerSaturday 212 - Craft Beer Needs Great Labels

#BeerSaturday is at week 212 and I am raising a glass to beers that grab your attention.


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger because of the years I have spent brewing for myself, the breweries I work with now on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing combine for the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist.

This week, I should be diving back into that IPA Box of Fun I started last week. Truth is, I still have a couple of them in the fridge and will have to save that for next week. So, here are some bold regional gems worth checking out!


image.png

Pint of the Week


IMG_1649.jpg

During the lockdown, we were not really permitted to gather anywhere and share a social pint. I mean, we did it anyhow with a few of our clients who happen to serve beer but those were staff meetings! Must be why we have been on such a roll with social beer meetings with new clients over the last while.

This one is a big toast of schooners (big-ass beers from a sports pub chain called Crabby Joe's) from a patio this week. Perhaps the best part is these big Black Swan IPAs https://blackswanbrewing.ca/show/our-beer were shared with the owner of the latest local marijuana dispensary! Here's to high times and good beers mixing so nicely with local commerce.


image.png

Tongue Tied Indeed!


IMG_1547.jpg

When I see an illustration like this on the label of a can in the craft beer section, I am compelled by the governing board of Beerologists to pause and check it out in the name of exploration. The contrast/line width is random but consistent, colours so varied despite being only 5, and the imagery is definitely different. What the hell is this beer?

IMG_1546.jpg

Turns out it is a double dry-hopped IPA from my old friends Nickelbrook Brewing https://nickelbrook.com/ Their Headstock beer became one of my all time favourite IPAs and it is at least partially responsible for my slide into obsession with India Pale Ales. It is an interesting departure from their standard branding style and a curiously low ABV for a DDHIPA

IMG_1548.jpg

When I spin it a bit more to reveal the informative third panel, I am greeted by a couple of my favourite IPA hops Galaxy and Citra, and the popular Vermont yeast and some wheat and oats to make it thick and smooth. It came exactly as advertised too as it was indeed a juice-bomb/citrus/gusher that poured like citrus clouds.

So good to see you again old friend! I will try this again and hope it is becomes available year-round.


image.png

Grab the Snake


IMG_1558.jpg

If you noticed the dirty garden hands with nails loaded with hard work before you beheld the artwork on the label, you maybe have tuned in for a #Gardenhive update. That is on Monday or Tuesday and this is only Sunday but really #BeerSaturday. Get it? Good!

If you guessed this is another artistic brew by Collective Arts Brewing https://collectiveartsbrewing.com/ then you are beer people and have been paying attention to years of #beersaturdays. I salute you.


IMG_1557.jpg

Here's the goods on IPA No. 17 (which I have been following since No.1...check the blockchain!) Sour IPA https://collectiveartsbrewing.com/beers/ipa-17/ If you have been following that long, you will remember me heckling Collective Arts for doing a half assed job at featuring the artists behind the art. I am happy to say that each of the artists apparently have a slice of the webpage as representation! Thanks CA and Andrew Presutto from Toronto https://collectiveartsbrewing.com/artists/andrew-presutto/

Generally, I like a sour or an IPA. Doing both is hit or miss but this one was a solid one! I cannot consider adding this to my coveted Top 10 because it is a limited run and is more of a sour than an IPA. Solid solid beer that would have been a good sour and a good IPA if they hadn't had to get progressive and take a stab at a hybrid.


no17.jpg

What I like most about this beer is that @parabyte sent me this picture on the day I was sampling this with a review of, "Good shiz @ZekePickleman." He is a bit of a Collective Arts fanboy but I will have to give the nod and coveted seal to CA for another in a long line of progressive IPAs.

beerologistapproved.png

text16.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Hop in on the marketing push with us and invite the world of beer bloggers to join us on Hive.

It is week 212 (that is right...212 weeks of #beersaturday s on the blockchain!) and you can visit our session here https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/it-is-beersaturday-week-212-calls-you-to-join Make sure you pop by https://friends.beersaturday.com/ and drop a beer in the box to have a shot at being the Beer King and create your very own beer blog so you can be drinking with the cool kids from across the globe.

I invite a friend to the party every week and this week it is @tattoodjay whom I may have invited before, but have had too many beers to care! He is the pioneer of #WednesdayWalk and an international @actifit celebrity.

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



Any artistic labels where you are?

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I wont be able to accept this challenge with the meds I am on I very seldom have a beer, I think its well over 6 months since I had one

but that said those are some cool ones you shared here


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.