#BeerSaturday 260 - 5 Full Years of Blockchain Beergut!

5 years = 260 weeks & we survived to toast the day!

 "image.png"
Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger naturally due to years I have spent brewing for myself, working with breweries on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing. Hence, the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist and I am cranking up my Beerology game this year.

This week, I have a beer with my little one over a game, discover a box of juice, and visit an old friend with a new groove.

 "image.png"

Pint O' the Week


IMG_4464.jpg

I have sampled some good shorties of the week but it has been the season of the The Pint O' the Week as of late. The PotW is generally a social beer shared in a pub or brewery, sharing a little lifestyle so you know I am a legit Beerologist. Pleasure and business go best with beer and some of the most interesting conversations are with strangers or people you hardly know over a golden goblet at the pub.

This week's feature is from right here in my hometown where the game is afoot at Heritage Hops Brew Co. https://heritagehopsbrew.com/ Tuesdays are daddy days when solo taxi duty for the little ones takes me downtown. What to do when you have an extra hour to kill between things? Bring Bananagrams https://bananagrams.com/ and have the hazy tropical IPA of the week in your Mug Club mug!

I cannot recall whether or now I won but what a great pint o' the week!

 "image.png"

A Box of Juice Box?


IMG_4420.jpg

I have not had the chance to review too many brews from Sons of Kent Brewing Co. https://sonsofkent.com/ over the years simply because there are too many other regional craft beers to taste. In general, I would rate them well out of my top 10 regional breweries probably due in part for my lack of exposure to them on the shelf and not having visited the brewery in Chatham Ontario. Now that I think of it, I remember promising myself that I would visit to get the true experience. Someday.


IMG_4419.jpg

Long time followers know I am a sucker for a special gift box of beer, especially when it is IPA, as it is great way to sample and blog about unique beers. So, a brewery I have not paid enough attention to, and a whole box of hazy IPA is right up my alley!


IMG_4421.jpg

These guys must have made me as a mark from a mile away. I generally grab 1 or 2 of a new beer to make sure I sample it, give it a fair shake, but not commit to more than that when there are other proven beers that can be living in the fridge. I picked this box of juice https://sonsofkent.com/collections/beer/products/copy-of-juice-box hoping for a variety of IPAs from Sons of Kent and discover their game. Turns out there was only one variety, which is not really a variety at all, and I was stuck liking it or not for all 4 pints.


IMG_4422.jpg

Weighing in at a SOLID 6.9% alcohol by volume (ABV), sporting colourful emperors clothes, and wearing the name Juice Box like a number of other beers, this was set to be something. I do love the simplicity of design still packed with eye catching branding and the fact that it contains wheat for a seemingly smoother feel and better buzz.

This double dry-hopped Citra/Centennial/Amarillo behemoth is indeed well balanced and bold. Good enough to drink all 4 and probably purchase again!

 "image.png"

Smashed Hops & Robbers


IMG_4447.jpg

It has been WAY too long since I have enjoyed a Double Trouble https://www.doubletroublebrewing.ca/ brew and I hadn't even realized it! Back when I would visit the beer store and only hope there was IPA, let alone a good one, I loved their beer and it played a significant role into my IPA obsession.

IMG_4448.jpg

Imagine the pleasant surprise when I am seeing a brand new version of Hops & Robbers https://www.doubletroublebrewing.ca/our-drinkswith a west coast style and dry-hopped goodness! This Cascade version is not even listed on the website though it appears they rotate through hops which would be a great way to discover more. Weighing in at a modest 5.7% ABV, and boasting an older school hop, I was surprised at the great balance and bold west coast taste. Reminding me again to keep an eye out for more new brews from this old favourite.

beerologistapproved.png
Well done Double Trouble! Good to see you again and I will be back again soon!

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!


287669158_5191063510942438_7817607533248274543_n.jpg

Hipstercat Likes IPA too!

260 consecutive weeks/5 full years of #Beersaturday and we are still going strong in the longest drinking session in recorded history. Join in our 5-year anniversary and hit up https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/have-a-sunny-beersaturday-week-260 for this week's #beersaturday post, grab a pint, and join in the fun with a beer story of your own. Don't forget to stack !BEER tokens so that you can get rich and play the Beer King games every week here https://friends.beersaturday.com/hive One day I will be the BEER KING!

This week of #BeerSaturday, I like to invite one of my older friends @amberkashif because choosing to be positive is thirsty work! Write a post about beer with min. 3 pics in any language.

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"
 "LL Mends banner.png" JOIN US ON DISCORD SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE JOIN US ON TWITTER
 "image.png"

I am honoured to curate for:

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

What are you drinkin' for week 260?

Sort:  

prost


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @davedickeyyall for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.