BeerSaturday 262 - Beers Abroad

img_4533

This Beerologist is still on vacation.

Normally, I ponder and drink and photograph and deliberate in order to create a post so detailed and long that people drop a huge 100% vote before the even they finish reading the post. Thank you for that but this week will be different.

This week, I am using @ecency to post a few of the beers I have enjoyed the first few days of vacation travelling through Amsterdam to Malta.

img_4629
This smooth pint was enjoyed at a restaurant in the city centre of Valletta, Malta. It was a long shopping trip that netted me 20k @actifit steps and you can catch that tale in yesterdays post. A velvety English ale with nitro instead of sparkly co2. Perfect to go along with the creamy ravioli for dinner!

img_4576

This next one was actually discovered in the Amsterdam city centre purchased from a snack shop right in Amsterdam Centraal station. We always drank Grolsh in college because it was cheap and good but I didn’t even know they offered an ipa. Nothing like the east or west coast North American ipas at all but a bit more hoppy flavour for a little zing. I enjoyed this on the train back to Schippol airport and would try this again.

img_4577
This Hertog Jan was discovered the same shop as the previous on in Amsterdam as I thought I might buy one for my better half to enjoy. Organic ale is usually beer flavoured beer which is right up her alley and this one would probably fit the bill. Turns out she was not in the mood for a beer (?!?!?!???!!?!?) so it was up to me.

I enjoyed it in the long line up for security at the airport and it made for a nice buzz when paired with the ipa on an empty stomach.

img_4560

During our 8-hour layover in Amsterdam, we jumped on the train below the airport for a quick jaunt to the city centre. My little ones had never been there and I love getting a bonus vacation to add to the beginning of a trip. They had a Bitter Lemon and an iced tea. I opted for the Affligem Dubbel at a healthy 8.5 Euro per pint. When you are a world travelling beerologist, you don’t even hesitate to invest in a beer that is exotic and very shareable on the blog.

Delicious and I cannot wait til the next time I visit Amsterdam!

img_4586
This is the first beer I had in our final destination of Malta. It has been 18 years since I had the most popular lager in Malta and I was really looking forward to this one. While I generally enjoy zesty sweet hoppy ipas, Malta is very hot in July and a clean light lager (4.3% Abv) to cool you off and drink when there is not even a session going on. I like to grab a bottle of water and a Cisk or a Hopleaf to enjoy on our travels or with the locals.

Cisk is my official welcome to Malta 🇲🇹 but I plan on exploring all the beer this tropical country has to offer! Maybe even visiting a craft brewery or 2 for next week’s #beersaturday!

img_4534

Thank you for joining me on the second leg of what promises to be a worldly beer adventure.

Sort:  

Looks great 👍

Malta, nice - more a good place to dive and - sure - some old stones and strange streets