#BeerSaturday 330 - Halloween Beers?!?

in #beersaturday7 months ago


zHops1.jpg

As we know, it is THAT time of year. Yes, that's right. Time for BEER!

Being The Blockchain Beerologist definitely has its perks, including but not limited to getting paid to tour breweries and sample new beers! When I am not globetrotting and chugging pints, my fridge looks like a colourful mosaic of regional craft beer I enjoy sharing with the #beersaturday alliance of #beer bloggers on #hive.

This week, I am taking 3 Halloween beers for the team to amuse a legion of followers who know I don't like pumpkin. Yes you read right. I am leaning into the Halloween season and tasting that which should not be...pumpkin in Beer.

 "image.png"

Lake of Bays - Pumpkin Ale


IMG_9570.JPG

First up in this sacrilegious endeavor is a brewery I have not been overly kind to in comparison with some of my other preferred regional craft breweries. Lake of Bays I like the illustration on this aptly coloured label even though I am not thrilled at the prospect of tasting it. In fact, I walked right past it and had to back track when I decided it might be funny to sample it for the sake of the season.

IMG_9571.JPG

Pumpkin Ale weighs in at 6% ABV and is recommended to be enjoyed between 6 and 8 Celsius which is a little warmer than your standard piss that needs to be near frozen to kill the taste. It pours like a brown ale and actually tastes like one too! A little sweeter with a subtle hint of pumpkin when I anticipated too much and a touch of dry spice, coming from the hops. for how much I dislike pumpkin and how often any fruit added to a beer ends up being too much, I do not hate this! In fact, I think this is a damn fine sweet brown ale I need to sample again.

Great surprise LoB!

 "image.png"

Great Lakes - Pumpkin Ale


IMG_8798.jpg

Great Lakes Brewery has been one of my favourite breweries for as long as I have had a beer blog. Since I am goofing off with pumpkin beer, I may as well give their pandering seasonal bad idea a try!

IMG_8799.jpg

Great Lakes Pumpkin Ale reads like it was narrated by [Vincent Price}(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vincent_Price) and it is quite possible they are over compensating for the egregious overstep of putting pumpkin in beer. This beer is not dark enough to be a dark ale but not light enough to be a pale. It actually lands somewhere in between with a good malty base, a hoppy strength, and a spicy edge that transcends perhaps all of those standards. This was another surprisingly good beer and I am really considering a taste off between these beers.


image.png

Flying Monkeys Pumpkin Lager


IMG_9122.JPG

My good #beersaturday buds know how much I love Flying Monkeys Brewery and what it meant to me to add this as the final stupid fuckin pumpkin beer to this edition of the world-renowned beer blog. World-class IPA and an experimental spirit to push brewing to new extremes respected by breweries all around, of course Flying Monkeys had to be here.

IMG_9123.JPG

Theatre of Madness is a Pumkin Lager that is darker an fuller than you might like if you were looking for a standard lager. I am not sure why pumpkin beer needs to be so dark when the flesh is so light and the iconic colour is so orange. This is the darkest of the 3 pumpkin beers in this spotlight and perhaps the best. Enough malt, hops and sweetness to balance the higher level of non-beer additives almost perfectly. This seemed like a Lake of Bays with more malt, sweetness and pumpkin for perhaps the best bullshit pumpkin beer of the season.

How the hell did I manage to enjoy 3 pumpkin beers I shouldn't have? Perhaps I should give them each a try and pick the best.

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!


Check out the new oven mitts I scored from a new client https://mscreations.ca/ Seriously the nerdiest oven mitts on the planet and you should by a set for yourself as #hive affiliate marketing is going to become a big thing starting here! You can also join @detlev and instantly become a beer blogger here https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-330 for this week's assembly of blockhain beer enthusiasts.
This week for #BeerSaturday, I would like to invite @qwerrie who likes Radio Head which surely directly translates to beer? Take a few pictures, tag #beersaturday and raise a glass with us on Hive! Beer = retirement fund!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Does pumpkin belong in beer?!

Sort:  

Happy Halloween I’ve been crushing pumpkin ales too!

Pumpkin Ale!! Wow, never even knew it was a thing!

for how much I dislike pumpkin and how often any fruit added to a beer ends up being too much, I do not hate this! In fact, I think this is a damn fine sweet brown ale I need to sample again.

Fantastic description, exactly how I expected it might be, as it does not look too appetising in the glass.

For sure.

In the glass it looks a little off as it is too hazy to be a brown ale and a little too yellow as well. I might snap a few of these up when they put them on clearance because nobody will buy after Halloween.

Ah yes good call, especially if they were nice. Stock up!!

Cheers! @zekepickleman🍺

"I like the way you think drink!"

!PIZZA goes great with !BEER
And so do pretzels but Hive doesn't have a pretzel token🥨 !LOLZ

Have a fantastic Sunday!🎃☪️👻

What do you call a cow who gives no milk?
An udder failure.

Credit: reddit
@zekepickleman, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of ninahaskin

(1/2)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

We like the way you play the game! !PGM
Thanks for being a supporter of The LOLZ Project.

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 14

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


A pretzel token huh? You may be onto something! Might as well have a !BEER and contemplate it!


Hey @ninahaskin, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

As we know, it is THAT time of year. Yes, that's right. Time for BEER!
What time is not beer time for you, my friend? 😂 As a Beerologist, you share great beers with us every week. You managed to find beers that fit the Halloween concept. Congratulations!

As little as I like pumpkin, this adventure was tastier than I thought it would be.

Soon enough, we will be into the winter ales and imperial strong beers!

Nice reviews. So far I haven't liked any pumpkin beer that I've tried. Personal preference. You make them sound good though. I'm glad they worked out for you. I've only tried Lake of Bays of those 3.

Yah lake of bays has come a long way but is nowhere near one of my preferred breweries. I left that one 'til last expecting it to be shitty. As much as I hate pumpkin anything, these were all very well done with the sugars blending into the malt and the flavour subtle enough not to screw with the beer.

Might have made for a funnier #beersaturday entry if I hadn't like them. ;)

All of them look good and I'm sure that they will be tasty
Have you ever tasted a fruity beer?

Oh plenty of fruity beers. I particularly enjoy the tropical ipas when they add just a touch of fruit to it.

The pumpkin was a pleasant surprise!

Time of the year to enjoy some beer 🍺🍻

Adding such variety of late, first fruity now veggie, wow and you enjoyed them to the extent you going to have a drink off taster party sometime in the near future. Must have caught you by surprise.

Great presentation as always, happy Halloween....

!BEER

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@ninahaskin(1/5) tipped @zekepickleman


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.