#BeerSaturday 331 - Geese and Sultana

in #beersaturday6 months ago


zHops1.jpg

Saturday night's alright for fighting and get a belly full of beer.

Being The Blockchain Beerologist definitely has its perks, including but not limited to getting paid to tour breweries and sample new beers! When I am not globetrotting and chugging pints, my fridge looks like a colourful mosaic of regional craft beer I enjoy sharing with the #beersaturday alliance of #beer bloggers on #hive.

This week, I am lucky enough to find 2 new IPAs from a couple of my favourite breweries to share on #beersaturday!

 "image.png"

Pint o' the Week


IMG_9575.JPG

I love to enjoy a pint at the pub for so many reasons including the part it plays in the weekly hops report. These two delicious sisters are posing from their spot on the bar at Heritage Hops Brewing Company which has become a staple on a Friday. Their 21 Haze New England IPA is among the best in the city and we do our part to reuse these 1.89 liter growlers rather than buy cans. Delicious and environmentally conscious!
 "image.png"

Uncle Goose


IMG_9654.JPG

A new beer on the shelf usually doesn't have to try too hard to get my attention, especially one with a Canada goose in a plaid shirt. When it boldly wears the letters IPA, there is a good chance I will grab one. When it is from Nickel Brook Brewing Company then the odds go up to about 100%.


IMG_9655.JPG

Uncle Goose West Coast IPA doesn't come with much description on the label except that it is their returning Beer With No Name contest. If I am not mistaken, Wicked Awesome NEIPA was a past winner and good beer.
As for Uncle Goose, a west coast IPA from the brewers of one of my all time favourite west coast IPAs did not disappoint. Even a touch more bitter, less malty and most west coasty than Headstock, this is a damn good beer. I will definitely be picking thee up while they are still available and hope they file them into the regular brewing rotation.

 "image.png"

Sultana Solero


IMG_9648.JPG

Great Lakes Brewery continues to be one of my longest running preferred breweries. I didn't realise this 'til later but this latin looking lovely had 2 photography sessions. So good I had to have another?

IMG_9643.JPG

I was wondering what was in a name for Sultana Solero and discovered 2 new hops I wasn't familiar with. As described on the website, "Sultana tastes like a galaxy of pineapple, and Solero is like a universe made up of a big bag of tropical jellybeans" so I am doubly interested in tasting this one!

It clocks in at GLBs standard 6.4% ABV and rocks their usual wheat and oats and really ends up not being a departure from their other NEIPAs despite the new hops! Anything but disappointing as I love almost all of those other NEIPAs. Very glad to have discovered this beer, will buy again, and very happy I photographed both cans I picked up!

beerologistapproved.png

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!


I have to show off my #beerologist oven mitts again as I scored them from a new client https://mscreations.ca/ Is there a Hive fabric so I could get some blockchain ones going? You can also join @detlev and instantly become a beer blogger here https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-331 for this week's assembly of blockchain beer enthusiasts.
This week for #BeerSaturday, I would like to invite @oadissin as I am wondering if those in Benin like beer? Take a few pictures, tag #beersaturday and raise a glass with us on Hive! Beer = retirement fund!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

West Coast or New England?!

Sort:  

The Beer cans look big
I guess it is that way maybe because of the close up photos

Not a photo trick. Those are #grownassman beers.

True and true!

A photographer once showed me a trick where you spin your phone upside down so take a picture and the perspective changes enough so that it looks huge.

Those growlers are the grownassman beers.

Love those !BEER oven mitts.

I should see if she has !WEED ones! I bet she does.

I'm not here today just to say cheers to you, my friend! Here are the beers sold in a bar in Turkey. Mostly classic stuff. Have you tried one of these?

Haha I can see some of those that I have had for sure.

I have never had Efes before and it looks to be a popular Turkish brand. I keep seeing Tuborg which I thought was danish and I have had many of those.

I bet you and I could sample each of those between us in a session!

Tasting each and every one of them is a very brave challenge, man haha.

Efes might be the most popular beer brand in Turkey. People love to drink it and it is a long-established company.

The beer cans are attractive. Hope their contents are same to the palate?

Thanks for the review.

But, what's the meaning of IPA?

IPA stands for India Pale Ale. Historically it was brewed with a bit of hops to stabilize it for trips on boats to far away locations. These days, it is sport-hopped strong bitter beer that makes hipsters grow their beards faster.

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 19000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 20000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List

Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @davedickeyyall for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Time to enjoy some beer 🍺