#BeerSaturday 334 - O'Hara's Irish Ales!

in #beersaturday9 months ago


zHops1.jpg

334 weeks of #beersaturday should make for a huge hangover but not for the professionals.

Being The Blockchain Beerologist definitely has its perks, including but not limited to getting paid to tour breweries and sample new beers! When I am not globetrotting and chugging pints, my fridge looks like a colourful mosaic of regional craft beer I enjoy sharing with the #beersaturday alliance of #beer bloggers on #hive.

This week, fellow beerologist @leaky20 inspired me to keep an eye out for a classic Irish beer and it worked!

 "image.png"

O'Hara's Irish Ales!


IMG_9749.JPG

It turns out that O'hara's Brewery is AKA Carlow Brewing and is only about 20 minutes drive east of Kilkenny which I have definitely heard of before. Looking a little closer, it is located in the heart of Ireland’s traditional malt and hop-growing “Barrow Valley” region and values traditional brewing methods even though the brewery is only 25 years old.

IMG_9748.JPG

Apparently these variety packs come in a few different varieties. The only one available to me is this one with some beautiful dark beers though there is supposed to be an IPA variety pack. Good enough for me as the O'Hara's Irish Ales variety pack will give me a chance to enjoy some traditional stouts it seems!
 "image.png"

Irish Red


IMG_9771.JPG

I have been enjoying some dark and brown ales recently so I thought I might start with the Irish Red. The bottle looks huge but is only 500ml and fits barely into the pint glass. You can see it is plenty dark and you can't even make out the red hue for the dark malt. I was expecting a thick malt flavour and some deep body in this one.


IMG_9772.JPG

The back of the label reads like a legal contract but suffice to say, this is an Irish Red meant to be enjoyed by those who speak many languages. The beer itself is deceptively dark for how light the alcohol is and the nice sweet taste to it. Also surprising to see it listed at 34 IBU as it has a nice smooth malt body but subtle hops for that IBU. Damn good beer that was nice whether you sipped conservatively or gave it a healthy glug. Been too long since my last red ale!
 "image.png"

Irish Stout!


IMG_9792.JPG

Next up, I had to opt for the Irish Stout One of my first pub pints way back in the day was a Guinness. So smooth and dark and scary made me feel like a real man! Since then, I have had a soft spot for stouts and LOVE to discover them on cask when I get to the UK. It is described as sessionable stout beer is filled with rich complex coffee aromas mingled with light liquorice notes. The combination of traditional stout hops with an extra pinch of roast barley allows us to stay true to Irish tradition, recreating a taste so often yearned for by stout drinkers so this one should be good!

IMG_9793.JPG

Unfortunately, as you can see from the picture, it poured as flat as a pancake with no visible air in the dark black brew. What a let down! The hue was interesting and I gave it a little sniff to see if it was off. Smelled fine with a bit of malty coffee aroma. Might as well take a sip anyhow. Actually this is not off at all and tastes just fine!

Nice round body even with a whiff of bitterness but not enough to change the taste. Disappointing mouth feel as you can expect but you damn right I finished this one. It would have probably been even better if it had some air in it but you have to give it to a beer that tastes good even when flat. I definitely have to find another one of these and give it a shot to see how good it is as carbonated as it should be!

 "image.png"

Leann Folláin Extra Irish Stout


IMG_9773.JPG

To end on a strong point, I had to save Leann Folláin for last. “Leann Folláin” happens to be Gaelic for “wholesome stout” which sounds about as good as it can get and this one poured much nicer! I am used to stouts being 5% ABV or less so one with a 6% punch may be right up my alley.

IMG_9774.JPG

Same wordy back label that is meant to communicate to the world that this black beauty will give you notes of coffee and chocolate and a nice bitter yet refreshing hop zing to it. This one was a sipper for sure as there was so much tasty body and round/full roasted flavour in even a small sip, it would be a shame to chug. The bitterness at the end was more of a slight spice that seemed to shift back and forth from the malt as it faded away.

beerologistapproved.png
Each sip tasted like another and this was my favourite from the pack. Not sure I can find them individually here so I will just have to buy another of these variety packs and hope for a bubble stout next time.


IMG_9749.JPG

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!


That does sound like a challenge indeed! Join the other beer sealing usual suspects with @detlev and instantly become a beer blogger here (https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-334)

This week for #BeerSaturday, I would going to invite @ekavieka as surely the Balinese like beer too? Take a few pictures, tag #beersaturday and raise a glass with us on Hive! When Hive reaches $10, we are going to have one hell of a global brewery tour!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Do you enjoy Irish Stout?

Sort:  

Thank you for the invitation. : )
I think I will make a post about Balinese beer this week. : )
!PIMP !DHEDGE


You must be killin' it out here!
@ekavieka just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @zekepickleman.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I look forward to it! !BEER


Hey @ekavieka, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

You bet I enjoy Irish Stouts. And I guess it's the only possible answer, nobody sane wants to be at ringside with the Irish ;)

Yah between the 2 of us, we can find someone sane! Til then, cheers to the !BEER


Hey @godfish, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

@zekepickleman...


All the talk of "Dark Beers" reminded me of my time in Germany (When I was in the U.S. Army). One particular memory, was a beer I tried in a pub down the road from the barracks. I was offered a Doppelbock Dunkel... Now... I'd drank a few Guinness Extra Stout in my time. But, my goodness... this was quite the beer! Your three choices here were quite interesting. Do you prefer a certain beer from a specific region; as in German, Irish, or Mexican, etcetera? Or just beer in general.


wesphilbin--rc.gif


@tipu curate
!BEER

Interesting!!!

So tell me, do you feel like going back to Germany to enjoy this beer?

@marajah...


Oh, dear friend. This was back in 1993 when I was in Schweinfurt Germany... I am not a big drinker anymore; as life would have it. I have several health issues that require me to take medications that would not interact well with alcohol. I do miss the time I was there... and the beer was quite delicious. It was a time period in my life, that I will always remember... But I would rather be a civilian there... than a soldier in the service. Thanks for the reply and question!

Ehhyaa, what a sad news!!!

Please it's better to abstain from alcohol than to loose your life because life is precious.

But, don't you think the previous beers and alcohols you took also contributed to your present ailment?

Beer in general will do but here are my favourites:

  • Lots
  • Free
  • IPA

It takes all sorts!

Please, what's their difference?

All the beers you talked about are all enticing and what I love most is their dark color.

It's like you love drinking dark color beers?

I like all kinds of beers. IPAs most but I love a good dark ale for a change.

Interesting!!!

But, what's the difference between Ale and IPA? Am asking because I haven't seen any of them before now

Interesting that the first Stout wasn't a Nitro. I prefer non-nitro stouts, so that's a plus in my opinion. Guiness Extra Stout is better than the Draught in my opinion for that same reason. Too bad this one was flat though. That sucks.

Flat but amazingly not bad! I will have to hunt another one down to give it a fair shake.

Somewhere do better flat than others. A premium domestic flat is undrinkable, though I personally think that they are undrinkable in any condition 😆

Cheers! I tasted Red Ale once and some other O'Hara's. Occasionally they have them here too. I haven't seen the other two yet, but, there's still time :)
Interesting that it's only 20 minutes to Kilkenny, their Red is one of the best beers for me, or let's just say I have great memories...
Btw: Where did you buy this package? Did you buy it in Croatia? It looks like the distributor is from Slovenia :) I sometimes buy beers from BeerPro...

But do you hang around our places? 😎🍻
!BEER

No over here in this part of Canada it is distributed by the provincial liquor board. https://www.lcbo.com/en/o-hara-s-irish-ales-pack-17073 I gotta make a stop in Croatia on my global beer tour!

This Beer-Box has come a long way 🍻😀

I’m sure they taste nice but I hope the percentage of alcohol in it isn’t much

Very reasonable except the extra stout but you only have 1 of those on a regular evening ;)

Time to enjoy some cool beer for the weekend

Those are cool flavors
I’m sure they will taste well
Right?

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @ekavieka! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.waiv

@ekavieka has 1 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @wesphilbin for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.