BeerSaturday 340 - Music on Vinyl and Haze in a Cube

in #beersaturday4 months ago


zHops1.jpg

340 weeks is a damn long time to be on a beer bender! With the #beersaturday crew, time flies when you are enjoying a pint.

Being The Blockchain Beerologist definitely has its perks, including but not limited to getting paid to tour breweries and sample new beers! When I am not globetrotting and chugging pints, my fridge looks like a colorful mosaic of regional craft beer I enjoy sharing with the #beersaturday alliance of #beer bloggers on #hive.

This week, I am listening to vinyl and jumping into a Haze Cube.

 "image.png"

Pint o' the Week


IMG_0156.JPG

The PotW this week is not actually a just a pint. It is actually a couple pints and some other fine cocktails being served at Revival House which is among my very favourite restaurants and event venues in town. The occasion this eve was the monthly Revival Vinyl Society shows where everyone brings their records and the DJ spins 'em. Exclusive and trendy and a whole lot of fun when there are fancy beverages like this.

 "image.png"

Refined Fool Haze Cube!


image.png

As is common in the season, we are at the end of one of the richest beer gift pack bounties. I have a couple more to review but picked up another Haze Cube from Refined Fool Brewing There are a couple repeats from previous cubes like Rip Zip Slip and Catstronaut so I am checking out the new ones!
 "image.png"

Help Yourself to my Parent's Wardrobe


IMG_0167.JPG

First up in the Haze Cube is what looks very little to be beer. Water, hops, malt and yeast is what purists would consider beer and adding raspberries, lactose and vanilla crosses a line. This really does look like a silly beer but is worth a shot.

IMG_0169.JPG

Help Yourself to my Parent's Wardrobe Raspberry Vanilla Smoothie IPA certainly is a ridiculous collection of words. Obscure inside jokes written by hipsters are generally not a great idea when it comes to branding but Refined Fool is not alone in this strategy. The beer itself is indeed tasty but you really have to be prepared for a blast of creamy sweetness and not a beer-flavoured beer or bitter IPA. If it was not for the goofy branding and overdone beer style, I would buy this again and definitely don't hate it.
 "image.png"

Monday Survivor


IMG_0170.JPG

Next up is another new brew to discover and share which seems to be a little more reasonable in the style and branding. Monday Survivor IPA makes more sense as a beer as some of us have endured many rough Mondays in our 9-5 wage slave days. Surviving a Monday is definitely worth a beer to cap off the accomplishment. This poor fella is in rough shape crawling out of the hot sun in the desert which doesn't make for a very refreshing image but you can imagine how good this beer will taste when he gets there.

IMG_0172.JPG

As for the beer itself, I was expecting a nice stiff IPA I might enjoy after a long Monday and came to find it rocks a modest 5%ABV and tasted more like a session IPA. Perhaps a Monday Lunch IPA? The hops were not the standard ones either which made for a different but subtle hop taste at only 25 IBU. It would make me happy to find these individually on the shelf in the summer time when I am keen on lighter beers to enjoy at outdoor events when 4 heavy IPAs would put me on my ass.

beerologistapproved.png

Tasty and refreshing on this one. Refined Fool gets the seal for another variety/gift pack that is composed totally of IPAs. A tip of the hat to Monday Survivor too and I hope we meet again in June.

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!


See? I am not the only one who thinks craft breweries skimp on the graphic design! Join the other beerologists with @detlev and instantly become a beer blogger at Beer Saturday 339 https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-340

This week for #BeerSaturday, I am inviting @burlarj who has set 2024 goals to support his family with HBD interest, build his stake so he has a $1 upvote and to engage more on Hive. Take a few pictures, tag #beersaturday and raise a glass with us on Hive! When Hive reaches $10, imagine what your upvote will be like then!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Would you drink a raspberry vanilla smoothie IPA?

Sort:  

Thanks! But I don't drink beer😇

No problem. You can be the designated driver or maybe we can drink some whisky? 🥃

The gang of Refined Fool Brewing mush be constantly high to come up with such concept (and to not forget most of it along the haul from the original idea to the final product). On the other hand, the beers seem to be quite a roulette :))

Cheers!

While I do love the vibrant and colourful labels that will help their product stand out on a very crowded shelf, my marketing hat fits a little tight sometimes when considering the branding. Maybe goofy is good enough but all beer is beer and the only reason you choose one or the other is marketing.

Either way, not bad beer and bet their moms think they are clever ;)

That's an interesting Brewery. They definitely put a lot of effort into their cans by the looks of it. I like that kind of crazy marketing if the beer is good. It annoying when a Brewery seems to put more effort into their can then their beers, which seems to be the philosophy of some companies 😆.

The 2nd beer sounds like something I would like in an IPA. I generally like a beer around 25 IBU

I am a hopeless ipa addict so I like em north of 40 ibu. BUT! finding a tasty one with decent hops at a low abv and 25, is something special. I will try again in summer over golf if I can find it again.

Yeah that's understandable. I may have said this previously but it's actually really great that we like different beers otherwise we would both be reviewing the same ones as each other every week 😆

Time to really enjoy some cool beer 🍻🍾

It is always time for that!

I’m really thirsty right now and God knows how happy I’d be if I could get any of these
Thanks for sharing

Surely there are good beers where you are too!

If the beer is not that alcoholic, I can give it a try

Hope this types of beer didn't contain high level of alcoholic

This drink looks tasty but I can't drink beer. Enjoy your drink.