#BeerSaturday - Introducing: WILLIBALD!

All week I drink like a SAILOR in anticipation of #beersaturday! This is the place to be so pull up a drink and lemme show you a few of the best brews this Canadian region has to offer.


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger years ago because of the blockchain, I came to write either about that which I am learning, or know very well. The years I spent brewing for myself, the breweries I work with now on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing combine for the self-proclaimed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist.

I took a trip to a unique brewery, which is also a distillery, and it is situated right in the countryside. My hipster buddies are crazy for this brewery and I have had a good one in the past but they are so small scale that you can't get it at any local stores.

Let's go for a drive and get a few pints!


image.png

Pint of the Week!


IMG_0935 (1).jpg

Every couple weeks, I celebrate the reopening of bars after the lockdown with a pint at a pub. Getting to work with many local restaurants and supporting the technology and marketing of local breweries, I get plenty of chances to do this as a beerologist and really enjoy it.

The Pint of the week comes to you again from https://redlionroom.ca (which is a webpage @town-crier marketing manages for them) and it a brand new one from a classic brewery Sleemans Brewing https://www.sleemanbreweries.ca/ from about an hour down the road. I drank PLENTY of their beer when breaking free from the Molson/Labatt trap after college but have yet to be impressed with an IPA from that place.


IMG_0937.jpg

Pier Point IPA doesn't even get a link from me because I refuse to wrestle with websites that are more fluff than beer. It was described to me by Irish Karen as something like 'It is easy drinkin' with not much aftertaste.' As much as I expected another bland, barely IPAs, this was not one of those. I actually enjoyed this one enough to have a second classify it as I would try this again.

image.png

Shorty of the Week


IMG_0926.jpg

This is your lucky day as you get a Pint of the Week AND a Shorty of the Week in one post! What I enjoy the most about a good shorty is enjoying a unique beer, and having a smaller beer in the fridge when a pint is a little too much.

I visited Willibald Farm Distillery and Brewery https://drinkwillibald.com/ because I rarely get out this way and it is the only place I know to get their product. I was hell bent on IPAs bit was pleasantly surprised to find a new-world pilsner with a little citra hops. This was a really nice beer with a bold taste for a pilsner and the last one lingered in my fridge til the perfect time to finish this pack of shorties.


image.png

Did I mention Willibald Farm Distillery and Brewery?


IMG_0907.jpg

This is what the view is from the driveway heading to Willibald. Literally not another building in sight and I think the Distillery has the grey roof to the right while the Brewery and Restaurant are the yellow rooves on the right. When's the last time you read the word 'rooves'?


IMG_0908 (1).jpg

Businesses are just in the process of opening and this is one of them. I think I was the only client on site but the staff was busy finishing renovations in preparation for a return to dining and drinking. For me, I would have loved to linger for a fresh pint of draft but I was happy enough to take some unique beers home to the fridge.


IMG_0909 (1).jpg

So much more than thumb going on in this photo of my haul!


image.png

Shamrock Milkhouse?


IMG_0913 (1).jpg

You are reading that correctly. I bought a few Shamrock Milkhouse Double IPA with vanilla, lactose and minthttps://drinkwillibald.com/products/willibald-beer-shamrock-milkhouse-dipa?_pos=4&_sid=849a4fc69&_ss=r. I sincerely did not expect this would be good. Vanilla is often used as a bad flavour disguise, and mint has to be perfectly done not to ruin a beer.


IMG_0912 (1).jpg

This literally was all the taste of a wonderful dessert in a can, without the overwhelming sweetness that could make it not even taste like beer. This is a fabulous balance of unlikely ingredients blending themselves into a legitimate IPA. Purists may balk but I am all in.


image.png

You had me at Bellwoods


IMG_0921 (1).jpg

I am going to buy some blue/white lights for my kitchen so that these beer shots are not so yellow/orange. When I do, I expect the deep golden hue of Willi Bellson DIPA https://drinkwillibald.com/products/willibald-beer-willibellson-dipa-bellwoods-brewery-collab?_pos=6&_sid=ec164a89f&_ss=r to look quite the same as this shot.


IMG_0922.jpg

This beer is indeed a giant in many senses of the word. Huge flavour, monumental alliance with Bellwoods Brewery https://www.bellwoodsbrewery.com/ far away in Toronto, and the large bell in the middle of a farm field on the label. I have backspaced a few four-letter words to describe this wonderful, bold, barely restrained and well balanced beer. What an unlikely alliance between breweries, and what a beautiful result.

beerologistapproved.png

While I don't get there often, I will stop buy whenever I am even remotely in the area of Ayr Ontario and Willibald https://www.google.com/maps/place/Willibald+Farm+Distillery+%26+Brewery/@43.2876553,-80.4254296,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x882c7310e3f92929:0xa2dcbc201866b5d5!8m2!3d43.2876514!4d-80.4232356 The pleasant surprise each of these beers delivered amidst high expectations going in mean for great anticipation for what I will be able to taste next.

Well done Willibald!

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Join the Hive marketing push with us.

From here, @Detlev and the gang can almost TASTE week 200 of #beersaturday even thought it is only week 196 https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/196-weeks-of-the-extremely-thirsty-beersaturday-have-a-beer-with-us So, as early adopters, you still have a chance to post your beer blogger tale within the first 200 weeks!

I invite a friend to the party every week and this week I invite one of my oldest blockchain friends @whatsup. I recall hanging out with you for years but can't recall having a beer! 🍻

Cheers you beer hunters!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



How about a CHEERS for $1.00+ $Hive?

Sort:  

Cheers for beersaturday.

Cheers to the !BEER to you as well old friend!


Hey @enjar, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Bellwoods looks great! I need to check it out the next time I'm that way.I have family in that area thanks for sharing !BEER

It is funny.

One of my technicians is a beer nut like I am and he goes nuts for Bellwoods Brewery. I used to live in the big city a few minutes away form there for years and never went. Then, he is also obsessed with Willibald way out in the country. Then to find they have a collab? Small world

Taste em both when you have the chance!

!BEER

Maybe when I can travel again I’ll get up that way.


Hey @cryptictruth, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

A savage mix of beers there @zekepickleman!! I'm thirsty looking at them!!

Sláinte 🍻

Dood the world really needs more Willibald! I haven't even tasted the stuff from the distillery side of the business.

I hardly say everything was good when getting a variety from one place. This was definitely the case here and I can't wait to return when they are fully open.

!BEER

Happy feckin days!! I hope you stocked up well! It's mad how some places can get it so right and then others can get it so badly wrong... i love trying new beers, but i hate when you get a dud!

I should have bought more but the duds I do find are great now as they make for good blogging material!

Ha ha!! Always a silver lining :)


Hey @ablaze, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Creatives are making most unusual array of blends, not so sure about tasting some, others do surprise you!

Home lighting, change in direction, recently playing around with LED changing colours will have to test drive that for beer photography, more glitz and glamour. Thanks for free flowing idea.

Nothing changes end result, great looking can with dog egging you on.

!BEER

Yah the cute dog decorated a can that could have been underwhelming except for a little creativity and a neat new spin on something classic!

🤝help me on hive comrade. because I am a new user

Sure thing!

Content + Networking + Time = Success on Hive. Take some time to post once a day, curate and comment on other people's posts and don't stop.

It has all the tools of a do-it-yourself business.

thank you friends for the policies and suggestions

Posted via D.Buzz


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @cryptictruth for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.