#BeerSaturday - Pints on the Town

#BeerSaturday is at week 210 and I am really leaning into the social drinks as lockdowns ease.


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger because of the years I have spent brewing for myself, the breweries I work with now on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing combine for the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist.

This week, we have pints all over town as restaurants are heating up with the weather.


image.png

Pints of the Week


IMG_1567.jpg

The Shorty of the Week will likely be back next #beersaturday as I have a nice limited run NEIPA living in the back of the fridge. So, it is back with the pint of the week again as we are having more beery business meetings, and those are my favourite kind!
I am please to say I did not get slapped when I told the fine waitress "I would like to have some of your Bleep Bloop." This was my first visit to a new alleyway/courtyard outdoor patio at The Common https://thecommonstratford.com/ in my hometown. Another outdoor place to enjoy a beer is not only nice, it is absolutely essential for local businesses like this one during uncertain times of lockdown.

IMG_1568.jpg

I cannot recall ever having a beer from Calabogie Brewing Company https://calabogiebrewing.com/. To me, it was the place we went skiing in highschool and the first hill I learned to love this winter sport. I like me an east coast IPA and the north so this one is right up my alley. The funny name and cool robot character are just bonuses as the beer was nicely balanced with moderate hops and even a little malt sweetness.

You can see the condensation on the glass to know it was warm out and this beer really hit the spot.

beerologistapproved.png

I am going to bust out my seal of approval as it has taken me too long to discover Calabogie and this is a fantastic first beer as an introduction.


image.png

When Beer Takes a Back Seat


IMG_1578.jpg

This next beer also comes from a meeting with my absolute favourite Indian restaurant in town Raja Fine Indian Cuisine http://rajastratford.ca/. The special thing about this meeting is that the owner of the restaurant himself prepared lunch for us! A completely unexpected and delicious surprise as we are both big fans of Jalfrezi for its pleasant heat and tangy exotic richness.

About the beer? I prefer a nice light lager with spicy Indian food. While that is generally Kingfisher beer, this one is a nice light draft from Cowbell Brewing https://cowbellbrewing.com/ It was a fantastic meeting made even better by wonderful food and a nice light beer to wash it down.


image.png

STARBOARD!


IMG_1572.jpg

This one isn't necessarily a beer on the town as I enjoyed it at home. It WAS outside however and I live in town so why the hell not? I have not always been kind in my review of Lake of Bays Brewing Company https://lakeofbaysbrewing.ca/ because I am pretty particular when it comes to regional craft brewed IPA. Lately though, I have changed my toon and enjoyed the last 2 I have featured and was happy to pick up yet another new one I had not tasted yet.


IMG_1573.jpg

Starboard NEIPA https://lakeofbaysbrewing.ca/beer/starboard/ features 2 of my preferred IPA hops (Citra & Mosaic) and adds Magnum and Cascade to a bolder and crisper character. Nice and hazy and slightly sweet/fruity. It really reminded me of how much I miss sailing these last couple summers. STARBOARD!! is what you yell at a boat that is on a collision course with yours but you have the right of way on a sailboat racing course. With a lighter ABV and a nice balanced, oats-smoothed taste, no need to get out of the way. Just a thirst-quenching leisure sail with this fine brew.

image.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Hop in on the marketing push with us and invite the world of beer bloggers to join us on Hive.

It is week 210 (that is right...210 weeks of #beersaturday s on the blockchain!) and you can visit our session here https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-week-210 Make sure you pop by https://friends.beersaturday.com/ and drop a beer in the box to have a shot at being the Beer King and create your very own beer blog so you can be drinking with the cool kids from across the globe.

I invite a friend to the party every week and this week it is more of a shout out for our old #beersaturday friend @cmplxty. He is already in the whirlpool with a New England pale ale of his own and you can check that out here https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@cmplxty/beer-saturday

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



Are you getting any beer time on the patio?

Sort:  

Screenshot_20210706-170537_Chrome.jpg

!BEER
Looks like a few nice beers!!
Cheers!!

Yah man!

A good mix of light and bold, new and old, but 66% more social which makes them even better.

Sounds like a wonderful Saturday, good food, cold beer AND beautiful weather, who could ask for anything more.

Cheers!

Awesome stuff, lots of different beers here! I will have to make it a point to try different beers more often, I’m enjoying the little 4 pack I posted about last night. Two gone from it already! Hehe.

Thanks for the shout out man, it felt good to partake in beer Saturday again after a hiatus! My wife was going through some pics on my phone today since we went out to an awesome zoo and she was like what’s up with this picture of a beer? Lol. I was like uh, duh! Beer Saturday! She rolled her eyes and kept going lol


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.