#BeerSaturday week 304 - Landlocked Acid House?


zHops1.jpg

If I hit POST quickly enough, I may actually drop a #beersaturday post on Saturday again!

Beer blogging comes naturally to me due to years spent brewing for myself and restaurants, working with breweries on their technology & marketing, and the decades spent imbibing. Hence, the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist doing my best to consume, report and even brew to do that title justice.

This week, I discover and share all new beers from Stratford, Toronto and Ottawa in a tour of Ontario.

 "image.png"

Shorty O' th' Week


IMG_7080.jpg

It seems lately that Black Swan Brewing https://www.blackswanbrewing.ca/ has been cranking out IPA shorties that have made it into my fridge. I suppose it doesn't hurt that they are across the street from the new https://towncriermarketing.ca office and were my first beer love in this cool little town.

IMG_7081.jpg

They had me at NEIPA but I was intrigued to taste this one with the Norwegian yeast. Not only am I a fan of the Star Wars tribute in the branding, this was a damn fine beer. Perhaps they should have released this to local nerds on May the Fourth but this one is glad to have it a week earlier.

 "image.png"

Acid House


IMG_7065.jpg

I am pretty sure I have never had a bad beer from Bellwoods https://bellwoodsbrewery.com/ A constant selection of playground beers, solid IPA game and top-notch core selection available all year. I could have picked this beer solely based on the label design which seem to be popular with friends in #beersaturday. Wonder if the beer is good?

IMG_7066.jpg

If they had me at Bellwoods, they might have lost me at Sour IPA. As much as I love an IPA and a well done sour, I have never found a sour IPA I liked very much. I have trust in Bellwoods and prefer Mosaic and Citra hops in my IPA so this might be alright.

It was!

More than alright. Not just decent for a sour IPA. A damn good beer. I am hoping it is at least still on the shelf if I get back in time or maybe even more than just a limited availability batch. I will definitely buy more of this beer!

beerologistapproved.png

Well done Bellwoods!

 "image.png"

Landlocked IPA


IMG_7025.jpg

Then, out of nowhere, comes Overflow Brewing https://overflowbeer.com/ (I actually presearched "overflour") Another Ottawa brewery added to a burgeoning beer mecca and I do love to discover new breweries from the same province! Bold enough design to catch my attention and an IPA from a new brewery? That is perfect Zeke bait.

IMG_7026.jpg

As I peel into Landlocked IPA https://overflowbeer.com/collections/beer/products/landlocked I am expecting an aggressive hop punch because of the T45 variety of concentrated/enriched Cascade, Citra and Mosaic topped off with a solid Magnum. Hop, forward? Check. Citrusy, well balanced and bitter finish? Checkmate! Nice beer that I definitely want to try again.

 "text16.png"

Not Beer!


IMG_7042.jpg

I will drop a bonus on you tonight in honour of the #sublimesunday folks who joined us last week. When I saw this on the shelf on the way to the beer section, I was immediately transported decades back. Tahiti Treat?! Like back in the day? OH HELL YA! This really is like a diabetes delivery mechanism but was as delicious as I remember in my youth. I was so excited to revisit days long ago, I even photographed the french side of the can.

I will not be having this again as it is a hell of a drug but brought back great memories.

 "text16.png"

#BEERSaturday!


338140736_734406368174206_4334263874107537733_n.jpg

My local boys at MVP Brewing are hopefully going to up their beer game as much as they are their social media game. Even Thomas Jefferson would recommend you soften your tempter, cheer your spirit and promote you health with @detlev and I at https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-304 for this week's #beersaturday post. Grab a pint and join in the fun with a beer story of your own.

This week for #BeerSaturday, I would like to invite my old friend @borjan who reigns from Croatia where I KNOW they enjoy a good pint. Take a few pictures, tag #beersaturday and raise a glass with us on Hive!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

I am honoured to curate for:

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Would you Tahiti Treat?

Sort:  

All of them seem like they would be okay beers. Like cigars and wine, I am not a connoisseur of beer either. Although I do enjoy your reviews and seeing the different brands. I have noticed a couple of your reviews that made me wish the beer was in my area. I was never much of a Vodka drinker, beer has always been my adult beverage of choice.

Yes there are plenty of unique breweries who often produce different beers faster than the amateur brand designers can. Noisy shelves make for noisy brands which make for some colourful posts.

Planning on a few road trips this summer to show the inside off some breweries too!

That will be neat to see the breweries.

Quite the diverse mix of beers, I think the first one would be the winner for me, nice photos

Oh ya Acid House was a pleasant surprise and I definitely recommend searching out Bellwoods if you are in Toronto!

I wonder what these beers will taste like
I can see that you have tasted a lot of beers
That is nice

Just when I was starting to think that it wasn't #beersaturday this week, you joined in again with an excellent post, my friend. The boxes are perfect as always. I'm sure these boxes will be a collector's item years from now.

Cool, hope you got the taste of this beers great. I have never tried but I want to try it.

Cheers! I like that sour IPA the best, at least from the look of the can. I don't really like sour beers, but I'd sacrifice myself for that :)

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I'd try one but they have way too much sugar to drink more than just one!