Of Beer, volunteering and Community

in #beersaturday4 years ago (edited)

People paying attention know that I have allied with our local marketing company https://www.towncriermarketing.ca @town-crier and invested much of my time helping the community through a crisis. Time for a massive shout out to a fantastic local business with a great leader who also happens to make a wonderful brew!

zekes-hops.jpg

Source:https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

While life as a Beerologist has definitely taken a huge left turn, breweries and their product continue to play a part in the community as we band together to get through. https://hive.blog/marketing/@town-crier/community-collaboration-for-front-line-health-heroes We have been telling the story where we delivered over 60 hot dinners to front line healthcare workers in chapters so that each of our partners got the recognition that is due. I insisted that I get to tell the story of one of those partners who just happens to be one of my favourite local breweries, https://www.blackswanbrewing.ca


image.png


image.png

Regulars on my Beerology blog will recall this logo and my love for Black Swan from past stories. When it came to working together again and deliver dozens of hot meals to long-term care workers and paramedics while supporting local restaurants in one fell swoop, my buddy Ryan was in from the second text (the one with the details in it as he IS a business owner.) What can we do? How many meals can Black Swan purchase? Do you need help doing he delivery?


image.png


YtuXTSEw.jpeg

Here we are, assembling the delivery safely on carts after Ryan had picked his portion up at https://revival.house and joined myself and Tracy from https://whatshappeningstratford.ca


image.png


DkpwQXmg.jpg

Through our combined efforts, we were able to load 60 3-course meals onto our train and wheel them up to the double doors where Joyce and the staff were waiting. Not only was he happy to purchase many of these meals on behalf of his brewery, he jumped at the chance to take a break from beer deliveries to team up with us and show some support for the wonderful and dedicated team at Greenwood Court https://www.tcmhomes.com/greenwood-about.php

image.png


IMG_8940.jpg

As far as brewing and retail operations go, there has been some heavy flexing and improvisation for a brewery as you might well expect. Some businesses simply cannot open, others have their heads down and are waiting from instruction from the government, while the crew at Black Swan have adapted bravely. Same day delivery is available in the area, only 1 person is permitted in the retail location at once, and I would imagine production has switched primarily to cans as establishments who normally order by keg are closed.


image.png


95771142_1291640914361383_1439374550277029888_o.jpg

Here, we have a selection of India Pale Ale, English Pale Ale and Road Trip ale that was delivered to one of the aforementioned fancy restaurants to include with the take-out/delivery orders.


image.png

Reciprocating The Support!


IMG_8941 (1).jpg

Along with the team at @town-crier, I am a proponent of breweries in general, but also in local business, leadership and community involvement. So, we have purchased a good amount of gift certificates from the brewery to kill a couple birds with one stone. First, we want to make sure the money goes back into the businesses, especially the ones being driven by such a community-supporting team. Second, we are going to turn these back around to other community leaders out there, fighting it out, and supporting everyone who is part of the solution, or needs help. A nice shirt, mug or hat (read: 6-pack!) may help at the end of a long day and you deserve it.

While I let @town-crier pick the recipients of these certificates, I am glad to have teamed up with Black Swan to reward the front line heroes and support restaurants valiantly battling for their existence. Standing up and being part of the solution is what leaders do, and Black Swan is apparently brewing leaders as well as one hell of a fine IPA!

Stay safe and suddsy my friends. CHEERS!

blockchainbeerologist1.png

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png

innerblocks.jpg

Thanks for the support and stay tuned for more Covid-19 stories of beer, community and victory!

Sort:  

This is awesome the craft beer community beat me had rallied. They are creating hand sanitizer, holding charity releases and still pumping out beer. This is centralized around breweries with canning and bottling lines. Breweries with out that capacity are struggling. I’m doing my part and buying local. We are also trying to get takeout from breweries with kitchens.

Fantastic!

If you go through the @town-crier stories, we are working with a local distillery who has converted their process to make alcohol based hand sanitizer in large quantities.

j56.jpg

Never did I have the chance to volunteer like this and I love working with the breweries in good times and not so good.

Hope you are well my friend.

Things are good on my end. Thanks for everything you guys are doing! Stay safe and healthy.

Unrelated question to your post, but what inspired the creation of your logo?

Which logo? My avatar is one from a Family Guy character creator of me. The hops logo is one I swiped as it is the hops I love in beer lately. The Beerologist logo was from a logo creator as I started having fun with more beer branding for my blog.

The Beerologist one. I like it! Reminded me of the band. Maybe I’ll make one for myself.

Ah that one!

It was when Judas Priest released their Firepower album. You could put in any text and make yourself a Judas Priest style metal logo!! https://www.judaspriest-namegenerator.com/

Go do it!

Cool, I was a huge fan back in the day. Here’s mine:

Hahah solid!

I loved them back in the day and really enjoyed the latest album too.

I should have just put an @ in there rather than painting it in myself.

Awesome 🤘

beer me ! and rock on (-:

Does that still work?

!BEER