You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To honey or not to honey & the importance of bees

in #bees6 years ago

I love bees, not only are they incredibly important for the ecosystem, they are also adorable :)
And yes, it makes a huge difference where you buy your honey from. I'm not too big on honey but enjoy some of it in my tea every now and then (especially when I have a cold, honey is known for its anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory properties) and then I buy organic honey from local beekeepers. I recently learned that organic honey isn't necessarily referring to the plants the bees collect the nectar from (I had always wondered, you can't really control where they fly) but how they are kept. For example, beekeepers have to ensure the bees have enough honey to feed themselves and comfortably survive winter. Supporting those beekeepers means supporting bees :)

Sort:  

Wow! Thanx for that info! I also didn't realize what organic honey meant! Wonderful to know! I will ALWAYS buy from local organic sources from here on out! Gotta do our part to support our bees!