Behind the Curtain - with a dog, a cat, books, plants & some art!

in #behindthecurtain6 years ago (edited)

Y'all, it's been a little busy 'round these parts ...

..and I am finally getting around to working on @freedomtowrite's Behind the Curtain Challenge - this is a fascinating and wonderful idea!!! I sat down the other night and grabbed some shots for y'all.

IMAG2396.jpg
Here's me and the puppers on the couch in the living area downstairs. I've never seen a dog with such an AVERSION to the phone camera. He was all snuggled up right next to me, and jumped away when I tried to selfie with him. This is what he looks like when he's pouting - what a goober!

IMAG2387.jpg
This is a panorama of what I see when I look around (minus the bathroom on the left, who cares!). There's the workstation office area on the left, the kitchen behind the wall with the wood stove/fireplace thing, my clothes drying racks, one of the bookcases, the art & seed starting center, and then the dining table which has also been converted to a gardening area. I'll break the space down more in the photos below.

IMAG2388.jpg
This is the left side of the room. I'll hook the laptop up to the telly here & watch "Grace & Frankie" sometimes, or I'll sit and do some work. These four paintings are mine, and you can see the AeroGardens glowing on the left hand side of the photo. I've still got some cd's that I haven't unpacked yet, but I'm still not sure where to put them.

IMAG2389.jpg
This is the straight ahead sort of view. I'd much rather hang my clothes up than send them thru the dryer, so they usually last a bit longer, yay! The painting on the bookshelf (of mostly neuroscience & nonfiction books) was made by a friend of mine. I had loved it for years & had the opportunity to buy it, and it brings me joy every time my eyes fall on it.

IMAG2390.jpg
This is the right side of the room. There's a big glass topped table in front of some french doors that I've got seeds & sprouts on. Things are moving along slowly, but they're moving! There's art stuff in the corner by the green & orange & blue paintings (also mine) and once the plant stuff gets moved outside, I'll probably start painting again on a consistent basis. I can't force the art out of me, and I really don't feel like doing anything until spring usually. So this is a smart usage of the space for the time being. You can kind of see a book peeking out from behind the table - there's a small shelf/case back there with art books in it. Mostly about Salvador Dali, cause he's my favourite!

IMAG2370.jpg
I also spend some time on Steemit upstairs with the other stinker. The walls are super uber boring up there, but Soxita & I will sit and snuggle in the rocking chair! She wasn't super excited about the camera, either ... obviously!

Also, full disclosure - the spaces aren't usually this bright & there are so many lights on in those first few photos. Usually I've just got a lamp on right next to the couch!!

Here are the rules:
-Take a picture of yourself working on Steemit, or what you see while you work on Steemit.
-Tag 5 Steemians in your post.
-Use the #behindthecurtain

Oh yeah, I need to tag some people! If y'all have already done this, I apologize, I haven't had the chance to look at much the past few days. I'm hitting up @beatitudes8, @gardengirlcanada, @minighomestead, @powellx5 and @jonpetrich (his posting places move around so much!).

Sort:  

Cool space! Pretty fun seeing inside another person's sacred space. Yours sure is cleaner than mine. :) I like this #behindthecurtain challenge – this is the first time I've seen it. Good way to get to know someone, like you, for example.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

@Ocd now has a witness, please vote for @ocd-witness to help support other undervalued authors!

i would be super honored & flattered to have this post shared, thank you @cabelindsay! going to follow @ocd now & will be using the tag in the future <3 :)

thank you, it's a happy, airy space that keeps getting more & more comfy as the days go by. the floor really isn't clean, but the colour does a good job of hiding the dog hair. plus, fewer surfaces = less clutter!

I've shared your post with the team. We'll review it tomorrow, and most likely post it in the curated list early Wednesday afternoon. Yeah, I imagine the color of your floor helps hide the hair there. No floor could hide the messes my kids make, running around like monkeys with paint buckets. ;)

I'm so excited that you saw and recognized @twinislandflames post @cabelindsay! She definitely did an amazing job!

So I was thinking that I would also like to nominate you to do my challenge as well! I love meeting new Steemians, and this is the perfect way! What do you say?! haha

Cool, yeah, I'll plan on joining in. Looks like a great community challenge.

Awesome! I look forward to seeing your post!

you could cover the floor with multiple drop cloths, maybe? i just got one for the art corner! LOL

Yeah, I think we'll design our next home with drop cloths on every surface, and just let the kids decorate as they monkey away.

in my perfect world, i'd draw & paint stuff on every single wall of the house, and then white paint over them when they fill up. and then repeat!

I love your ceiling!

thanks! it's awesome to look at throughout the day, with the way the sunlight changes the shadows :)

Wow, @twinislandflames, your space is is cozy and beautiful filled with your art!! I love to hang dry clothes as well...just not towels, I try to make it to the laundry mat for those haha And your animals are so cute...and I'm so surprised your pup pouts when the camera comes out!

Thank you so much for taking part in my challenge! It was fun getting to know you better!

i had a ton of fun doing this, thanks for giving us the opportunity. i need to catch up on everyone else who has also done this, and soon!

there's also a drying rack thingie outside. once the weather warms up and the wind calms down, i am going to use it SO MUCH. =D

You're welcome! I'm so excited it's doing so well...and it has made it to so many different locations!

Oh my goodness, clothes that get a fresh breeze and a warm sun smell the best! It's also the way I learned how to remove tomato stains. There was a spaghetti accident on my favorite quilt, and I washed it using vinegar and soapy water then hung it to dry in the bright sun. Within an hour, the stain had completely disappeared!

i have heard a lot if sunshine whitening stories, but this is my first tomato stain removal story! this is GREAT to know, because so much of my food in the summer is tomato based. thanks for the tip, honey!

You are welcome!

Your paintings are so cheerful! They make me think spring of spring! I just adore the one with swirls above your desk. 💚 I haven't been on much in the last week, but I'm glad I finally had the chance to look around a little tonight. I'll give you a peek behind my curtain tomorrow. 😏

thank you so much! and i was hesitant to tag you, but i know the feeling of being not around much. doesn't mean you can't get a little lovin' from other folks. screw that! looking forward to seeing your space whenever you get around to it :)