ORGANIC MAYA GROWN FOOD - Going to the weekly farmers market in San Ignacio, Belize -

in #belizelast year

I stayed in San Ignacio Belize for a month, whilst making a documentary about the Maya food forest and medicinal plants. For the first week I stayed in an airbnb that had this lovely enterance.

20210612_092201.jpg

A rainbow of recyled plastic greets you at the front gate, as you come and go

20210612_092212.jpg

The location was a good 20/30 minute walk from the market, sometimes I grab a taxi on the main road, but I also like to walk to get some exercise, and get the taxi on the way home, once I have brought everything.

20210610_121057.jpg

Its nice to pass by peoples front yards here because they grow so much, from a banana orchard, to pumpkins and zucchinis growing on the fencing, or covering other crops, like corn or beans.

20210610_120623.jpg

The Maya food forest is not a thing of the past but still very much alive, aswell as for the Garifuna people, many of which also keep a productive garden. Not everybody but most people in Belize grow something.

20210606_174612.jpg

On the way to the market I walk through the park, its so hot on the road, the temperatures are 35c, so walking through a green space is refreshing and these huge Guanacaste trees provide a lot of shade.

20210605_111605.jpg

a stark difference to walking on the road, often there is no side walk, so you are walking on tarmac, its hot, and you have to dodge the traffic and try to avoid inhaling too much exhaust fumes, so I often continued to wear my mask, this was also back in 2020 when it was compulsory to wear the mask everywhere in public, in Belize and if you did not, you would be fined. I was once stopped when the mask was hanging low by police in Belize, they let me off that day.

20210605_094736.jpg

Finally I made it to the market, and Im looking especially for organic food, I know that these local Maya woman has grown everything naturally, she assures me, I believe her because I have seen for myself first hand how they grow everything, in harmony with nature. I have even brought directly from these growers but I need more food and im specifically looking for some more fruits.

20210605_093150.jpg

There are many stalls, flowers, food, clothes and even the Mennonites sell here but I wouldn't touch anything they sell since they use alot of pesticides and artificial fertilizer, which I again saw first hand from Spanish Lookout, this is an area totally deforestation and taken over by the Mennonites.

20210605_092413.jpg

There was also a lovely little boutique advertising the botanical gardens, selling plants, some organic dry goods, and organic cosmetics as well as these huge jack-fruits.

20210605_120518.jpg

20210710_105810.jpg

Getting home I laid out all the fruit on the table, we got mangoes, avocados, plantain,

20210610_073125.jpg

baby bananas, soursop - my new absolute favourite fruit, as the same suggests, its a little sour but still sweet, so refreshing and super super healthy, a cancer curer!

20210612_103756.jpg

Lets not forget the starfruit, another favorite of mine, sometimes a little sour but again another super crazy healthy fruit and so hydrating!, I also got these lovely pumpkins.

20210609_190016.jpg

Reminiscing about the bountiful healthy and organic food is making me wish to return to beautiful Belize, I felt mostly quite healthy because of the humid weather and healthy food. But sometimes it was difficult to get exercise, walking around wasnt easy and not always that safe.

Sort:  

Have you finished the documentary? I am keen to watch that one. All those fresh food are no stranger to me but somehow, maybe because of the abundance, I care a little about them 😅. Your post makes me want to give a little more appreciation to them.

yes I have several documentaries

The best one about medicinal herbs is in Spanish

but the rest in English...



🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@atma.love(2/15) tipped @celestialcow (x2)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

Nice pictures and story. Live the recycled rainbow :-)

i briefly visited Belize when travelling in a Minnie Winnie RV back in 2011

Some free Hive-engine tokens for you:
!PGM !PIZZA !LOL

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS tokens to @atma.love

remaining commands 12

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


I received straight Ds in all my biology classes in college
I guess I’m bio-D-grade-able

Credit: reddit
@celestialcow, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @atma.love

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(4/10)

thanks for the PIZZA, do you know what I do with it?

Eat it :-)

Well, definitely stake it (using leodex.io - sign in with hivesigner or keychain)

Some free Hive-engine tokens for you:
!PGM !PIZZA
!LUV

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS tokens to @atma.love

remaining commands 14

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


I guess soursop is what they call sirsak in Indonesia,
I like that one too.

i never saw it in indonesia but im sure they have it, theres also the sweetsop so delicious!

Congratulations @celestialcow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 87000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 88000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - August 2023 Winners List