Pi Day Bento

in #bento6 years ago

pi bento.jpg

This bento incorporates the number Pi (only two digits out), the symbol for Pi, and a mini apple pie to celebrate Pi day. As I was assembling the salad portion of the bento I had a large radish slice that I decided to cut as a pie.

The main protein part of this bento is a slice of meatloaf purchased from the grocery deli and a slice of pepper jack cheese for the numbers and decimal point. The numbers were cut using small cookie cutters found in the baking section of a craft store and I used a straw to cut the decimal point. The meatloaf is sitting on leafy green lettuce.

The side dish next to the meatloaf was also purchased from the deli – roasted corn and pepper quinoa . There were spinach leaves in the salad, so I used kitchen scissors to cut one into the symbol for Pi (it didn’t come out perfectly). The salad is shaved brussel sprouts and a large cut radish. The apple pie is homemade.