BEOS at Sea #8

in #beos5 years ago

Tomorrow morning, we will be in Honolulu, Hawaii.
So far BEOS at Sea has travelled a total of 6115 nautical miles (7037 miles or 11325 kms). This is the end of the 1st leg of our 30 day cruise. Tomorrow we start the 2nd leg of our 30 day cruise. We will cruise 7 days in Hawaii, then 5 days at sea to reach Vancouver, BC.

Below photo shows dates, distance, and places travelled to date.
IMG_9669.jpg

Our ship in port at Tahiti.
IMG_9495.jpg

Gotta love the alluring water of Bora Bora
IMG_3744.jpg

Entertainment and Lunch after a day of snorkeling in Bora Bora.
IMG_3756.jpg

They heated the rocks that are 1 foot down in the pit for 1 hour prior, then cooked lunch in the covered ground for 2 hours.
BeFunky-collage-4.jpg

For a better understanding of BEOS at Sea, see Stan Larimer's post here

I hope you enjoyed my post, and I look forward to sharing BEOS at SEA daily with you, which is a perfect cruise for many days of "International Water"..."Jurisdiction, NONE"!!

rsz_img_3501_2.jpg

Sort:  

Got out of town on a boat from the Southern Islands
Sailing to reach before a following sea
She was makin' for the Trades on the outside
And the uphill run from Papeete

Off the wind on this heading lie the Marquesas
We got eighty feet of waterline, nicely making way
In a noisy bar in Avalon I tried to call you
But on a midnight watch I realized why twice you ran away

Think about how many times I have fallen
Spirits are using me, larger voices callin'
What heaven brought you and me cannot be forgotten

I have been around the world looking for that woman girl
Who knows love can endure
And you know it will
And you know it will

-- with apologies to Crosby, Stills and Nash - Southern Cross

I've only been on a cruise once (a week around the Hawaiian islands) but we absolutely loved it. I must confess to being a tad envious, but I'm truly glad you are enjoying your cruise, and I am grateful for your help with BEOS.

At some point "when my ship comes in" - perhaps BEOS? - maybe we can cruise again. The only part we weren't crazy about was that the ship was going to sail, whether we got back to it or not... A bit of pressure, LOL!

But then I guess you'd need to own the ship to be able to set the sailing time... ;)

Enjoy the islands! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks! The part I'm not crazy about is when the cruise is finished. One of these days I swear I'm going to do the wet noodle and/or leave kicking and screaming lol. We've come close to missing ships a few times and we were actually kicked off once because we didn't have a Brazil visa...that was truly the amazing race to get back to the ship. Several plane rides later we did rejoin the ship with our Brazil visa :)

Me too, I'm really grateful for helping make history with BEOS!

Looks like fun. Nice photos of the guys cooking, especially. What's with the woven palms, though? Did they encase something in that to cook it?

Don't suppose you could set up shop on a random desert island in the middle of international waters? I suppose groceries might be a problem, though. Plus, I don't think the pizza places would deliver that far out.

It was an awesome day thanks! They had the food on a metal grate on the heated lava rocks. The woven palms were layered over top just to keep the heat in.

Lol, setting up shop does sound wonderful, but everything is a problem getting on those islands. When our tour boat broke down the talk was of how hard it was to get things repaired and that you were usually down for a month before you got parts. The boat operator said they buy boat engines that have the least electronics.

I’m using Partiko to make friends and have fun on the Steem blockchain. You should as well! Here’s my invite link: https://partiko.app/referral/smallearth, you will get 3000 Partiko Points for sign up bonus, and you can exchange them into Steem token!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I wondered what Partiko was all about.

I think that today it is the best phone app for steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like a really cool trip. I've never been on a cruise before but your pics make me want to. Typically when I travel it's usually in the mountains somewhere. I haven't been to a beach in around 10 years.

I love eating local foods cooked in interesting ways. Its so fascinating to see food cooked outside without fancy or expensive technology. I bet lunch was a fun experience.

I used to avoid the beaches because I burn so easily, but I LOVE being in the ocean!

I too love eating local foods. My favorite was a cooking class in Thailand on the beach, but it never tastes the same when you try to make it at home.