You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have you ever been Steemauled by Burnitallbernie?

in #berniesanders6 years ago

Thank you so much for this thorough reply. Sounds like a good solution. Any idea if @dan is going to start off with a legit content curation platform after releasing EOS? BTW, if you run for Witness you got my vote! I have yet to find a witness that will acknowledge what you have said and pledge to do something about it.

Sort:  

If you ask witnesses that aren't in the top 20 you will find some that will at least acknowledge there is a problem. The top 20 are pretty solidly entrenched in the extant milieu, and what I have got in response is 'I don't agree.', or nothing at all. I have seen them discussing the problem of Sybil attack due to the centralizing influence of stake-weighting amongst themselves, but it's not something they are paid to advertise.

Consider that a takeover of the top 20 witnesses will involve acquiring at least 15% of the Steem in existence, and it becomes apparent that this isn't just a mechanism that keeps them in control now, it's also a golden parachute that cashes at least some of the oligarchs out when SHTF.

I reckon @dan is one of the primary architects of the current stake-weighting system, and suspect any new platforms he may contribute to will be similar. I have read some of his posts on other platforms (he's a coder. You can find lot's of stuff he says on Github) and suspect he's a fan of coporocracy, rather than egalitarian systems. That's only my sense of his take based on my own lapses of deep understanding of his person, and meager exposure to his writing, so don't take it too seriously.

You can find out more about what he intends to do by reading his off-chain blog on Github.

Well if you know who those witness candidates are let me know and I'll vote for them, or I could even delegate my witness vote.

Thanks again for your replies. I wished I had a better way to dig up this kind of info and make a post explaining it to people. I tend to be the historian wherever I go, but feel like I'm just stabbing in the dark with this platform.