How to not get hacked in Crypto (100 BTC lost, OUCH)

in #bi7 years ago (edited)

Hello Cryptoers,

Today I saw this post on reddit and I cringed while reading it.

Dude lost almost 100 bitcoins because his computer was infected. It's not the first time this has happened.

How to not get hacked in CRYPTO?

The answer is very simple. A dedicated pc whether a desktop or a laptop. A Nano hardware wallet is what?... about 100-200 dollars? Add 100-200 more dollars and buy a DEDICATED laptop that you will ONLY use for crypto purposes and nothing else. How hard is that?

The other day, I was applying for a job, and this recruiter sent me a word file so I'd fill some stuff up and return back. I downloaded it, but in a second I thought to myself, what if this file was infected and I did crypto stuff on my daily computer as well? It would have been messy!! You just never know.

As crypto goes mainstream, hacking and phishing will become even more popular than before.

So please buy yourself a laptop, use Etherenet cable for internet connection, and also TWO clean USB drives to save your keys and passwords.

GoodLUCK

Sort:  

Hey, nice post =) I own a ledger nano s to store most of my crypto. I would say to own a crypto hardwarewallet is one of the best ways to store your crypto! I sleep like a baby every night!