BIBLE STUDY: Day 192 Amos 1-5

in #bible3 years ago

pexels_johnmark_smith_250609.jpgSource

Today's bible study from my ongoing chronological bible study plan was from the book of Amos and read the first five chapters of that book. God makes his judgments upon Israel known to his servant Amos. A people he loved but unfortunately, they lived in iniquity, unrighteousness and completely neglected the laws of the LORD their GOD. GOD pronounced his judgment on the people.

As a kid, reading the bible and the story behind how GOD saved the children of Israel from the hands of Pharoah in Egypt and walked with them through out the wilderness for forty years, a time they were not supposed to spend wandering about if not for their disobedience in the first place. I see this continous cycle of them sinning and GOD giving them into the hands of their enemies and then they will repent and cry out to GOD and he will have mercy and rescue them but immediately he does, it barely takes long and they are back to their old ways. Just like scripture clearly puts it the dog has returned back to its vomit(2 Pet 2:22).

We see this cycle repeated in scripture over and over again. As a kid, I will ask myself what is wrong with this people? Why are they so stubborn and never learn their lesson? How many times are they going to keep on doing this and how can GOD even take this every time? Being the kid I was, I will get so mad seeing this and had had enough of it already. Looking at it now, I realize we are no different from these people. We keep on doing the same things GOD has asked us not to do and every time after doing them and the consequences punishes us heavily, we run back to GOD for help every time. I realize we are not any better at all and that makes you appreciate the mercy of GOD even more.

I tell myself if GOD was a man, he would have given up on the human race a long time ago because I just can't understand his love and mercy. It's just beyond human comprehension. One thing that intrigued me most today was

For the Lord God does nothing without revealing his secret to his servants the prophets. (Amos 3:7)

This was interesting because even in our sinful estate, he still send messengers our way to warn us of the consequences of our actions which unfortunately, most people don't listen. Today, we have men of God crying out on the pulpits of the consequence of denying God's love and dying without Christ and people just laugh at them. What more could a loving God do for his people? The same people who will not listen still turn to blame God for the consequences of their action saying: How could a good God let this happen?

What more could he do when he has done everything possible to save you by warned you not to do it just to keep you safe? He even sent his only begotten son to die in your place just so you don't perish but have eternal life but what do we do? We spit on that gift and render it useless. Will he not be just when he judges this generation for rejecting his light and chosing darkness?

Prayer for Today
LORD, I want to appreciate you for your love, mercy and grace that has been poured out for me. I am sorry LORD if I have been rebellious, disobedient and ungrateful. Forgive me LORD and help me to live the way you want me to. Let me live a life that will bring you joy and not pain. Help me LORD. Amen

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @hermannsol.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @hermannsol! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 52000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP