You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Bid Bots The Only Way?

in #bidbots6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for your two cents! It's good to have both angles of arguments here!

I don't believe however that the bots have directly diminished your specific rewards in any way.... I don't see how that would be tbh.

If you look into bid-bots... most ppl don't actually directly profit from their votes, since you have to pay for them and do not get a guarantee on your investment. Also, subtract 25% for curation from the post payout lol. ooo Also it forces you to power up some for your initial investment because you ge paid out in SBD and SP right. So that's actually 1 good, all be it a small thing.

Soo... for the most part the bidder loses a portion of their investment but get's promotion in exchange which hopefully draws the organic community attention you mentioned:)

Typically you either break even, profit a couple bucks or, lose a couple bucks. At this point, it's become mostly a tool for promoting the posts you believe are "good content" (but as many steemians can probably empathize with) most of the time do not get seen by the larger community these days for various reasons.

The Bid Bot itself and the investors seem to make some $ tho, & some give portions of the profit to various curation or other initiatives as well ~

There's some inherent good and also some inherent bad in the bots from what i can see. I don't think it will last though. It suxs that in order to use them effectively you require some significant capital.
most new users won';t be able to use them in this way which is negative. But Bid-Bots probably won't last, not the way they are dominating Steemit currently.

If the community doesn't like the content being bumped up by bots, they will and do flag it. That's what it's there for right?! ;)

Sort:  

I don't believe however that the bots have directly diminished your specific rewards in any way.... I don't see how that would be tbh.

Then you dont understand the math.
Your mentors have left this part of your steem education out because they want you playing the game their way and not the way it actually is.
The same reason nobody mentioned the .02 rewards round down in the two years before it got made known publicly.
I had been told that the vests still credited, but that was inaccurate.
I need to go back and find who told me that misinformation, and call them on it.

The less sp actively voted raises the value of the remaining sp.
This is what the whale experiment was about, until stinc put the kibosh on it and gave us pay to play.
If only one vote is cast, it gives the entire pool.
If it has 10sp or 10m sp.
But, if one 10sp and one 10m sp vote gets cast the 10sp vote gets rounded down, 'Sorry Mr. Poor Person this game is for rich people, you should get a job, and put in some overtime!'

When @ned delegates 1m sp to his favorites the value they dole out comes from every user that receives a vote.
Which may be funny if you dont need the money anyway, but not so funny to the venezuelans.

When @curie was favored with their delegation and applied rules that excluded my content from consideration they effectively robbed me of a little value from every vote I've gotten.
When @dtube votes 100's of sbd to a video, those sbd come from 100's of newbs getting nothing.
The less sp voted for you, the less defense you have against having your rewards rounded down by bullies taking advantage of their power in the math.

You dont have to take my word for it, ask @paulag, she didnt believe me, neither.

So, allow me to thank you for all the minnows that got their rewards rounded down so you could tickle your funny bone.
:flips a bird:
:eyeballs you too bidbot owners:

Perhaps u could show me the math...? It’s possible I don’t quite understand it, the way u see it i mean. I’m also still currently in the research phase trying to obtain as much knowlege about this phenomenon as possible.

It’s clear that you have a very nagative view of the bidbots. And that’s fine, ur totally entitled to ur viewpoint.

I wonder.. did u listen to the song/read the lyrics?

Just curious... bc, i believe we’re addressing both sides of the argument... also there’s no need to flip ppl off (even virturally) when ur having a mature discussion about a topic right?

I cant show you the math, i fly this ship by the seat of my pants.
My guestimates are usually in the ballpark, though.
Like when i see my curation rewards down by 66% i can safely assume that somebody has a new scam, oops, i mean way to profit at the expense of others, on curation.

I can show you @paulag's take on the math, though.
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@paulag/the-impact-of-unused-steempower-on-the-rewards-pool-blockchain-business-intelligence
There is a flaw in this math, no whale can take 100% of the pool as long as others are voting.
Their take can only reach 99%, and that is unlikely, 80% is fully acheivable, though.
One of her posts says bidbots get 1/3 of the daily rewards, @statsmonkey's reports show another 1/3 going to just the top ten voters, lets figure the next top one hundred voters taking another third, what does that leave for the other 59,000 daily users?

As for flying the bird, what do you consider the statement, 'Screw you, its our stake.' say to you?
Combine that with getting booted from a couple discords for expressing my opinion that declining rewards solves this problem, and that bidbots are bullies, and i think its safe for me to use sign language because they got their fingers in their ears.

I guess i should start to expect intelligent conversations here, ive been getting more of those lately.
So, if the bird isnt meant for you, allow me to apologize for causing you to be collateral damage.

I did read the lyrics, very creative, but forgive me if my empathy for the venezuelans outweighs my appreciation of your humor.

You do know that those .01sbd votes are just going to round down?
Anything less than .02 rounds down, including those votes displayed as .02 because .015 to .019 displays as .02, but isnt actually.
One more screwing of the little guys courtesy of the math.

Thx for the info, i needa re-read the posts u suggested tho, so i know that i fully understand the ramifications being presented in them before discussing it further. The first time through hurt a little lol. I’m not that great with math ;)

Btw, i was checkin out your blog yestetday, some interesting subjects and content (nice).

I did want to ask you about Crowdfundedwhale tho. I noticed that it votes on ur posts. Respectfully, i’m just a bit confused as to how/why this particular bot seems okay to you, where as the others seem to be not okay...

I also bought into crowdfunded whale when it first launched so obviously i support it...

Essentially it is a from of bid-bot tho. Ppl send steem or sbd to it and in return it votes on all their post right ;)

Honestly, i appreciate the discourse we’ve been having. So hopefully it’s cool to keep discussing this stuff without it turning into something negative.

Cheers 🍻

You are right cfw is contradictory, i will have to abandon it eventually, but for now, i dont think anybody will begrudge me my .32sbd per post.
Especially considering poking the bears is decidedly unpopular among those that go along to get along.
Many days cfw has been my largest voter.

Thanks for your kind words about my content.
As a dissenter i dont take your counter-dissent personally, and rarely break out the ad hominems.
At least until you stick your fingers in your ears, and then you wouldnt hear what i said, anyways.